Can you guess what this is?

June 22, 2012 § 5 Comments

It’s the last of the 70 odd pointy blocks I’ve been hand-piecing for my new quilt. I’ve decided to call it “Humanity” because no block is exactly like another and the whole is more than sum of its parts. If there are two the same colour they are mirror images of one another and they will be facing different ways.

Here is the pile of finished blocks and now I just have to cut some blank white squares and sew them all together. If I manage to get it up on the design wall I’ll take a photo before I start sewing. Wish me luck!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Can you guess what this is?

  • Sylvia Smith says:

    Oh Munaiba, I LOVE the name!!! How inspiring! I can’t wait to see it. 🙂

  • Linda says:

    I echo Sylvia’s comment. If only people could recognize the same thing that your quilt will symbolize!

    xo Linda

  • Fran says:

    Ditto Sylvia and Linda. When you sign this quilt, remember to include your reason for the name. It’s such a beautiful thought to go with a beautiful quilt.

  • Shelley C says:

    Wonderful thought behind the name; looking forward to seeing the entire top..it certainly looks intriguing!

  • Annette, VA says:

    I too love the name of the quilt and the quilt! Dumb question: did you machine or hand piece it? I can’t wait to see the finished top!!! (no pressure lol)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Can you guess what this is? at Sewjournal.

meta

