Turkish Handcrafts

May 29, 2012 § 3 Comments

My husband and I visited the Anatolian Turkish Festival in Darling Habour on Sunday afternoon after a hard morning’s painting. There were lots of people, lots of interesting foods, Turkish music, Turkish wrestling and, my favourite, Turkish handcrafts. Beautiful paper marbling, hand-painted calligraphy and traditional wood carving to name a few. It was a lovely afternoon and the weather was perfect.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Turkish Handcrafts

  • Linda says:

    That looks like it was so much fun! I miss being able to go to craft shows. There’s one really big one that comes in early fall, Harvest Festival, and I used to go with a friend. It’s huge, and we used to walk around saying to each other, “we could do that” at almost every booth. I never bought anything much. That’s when I had 4 little ones at home and not much more than a penny to spare, but it was so much fun to look, and oooh, and ahhh at everything. It being a Turkish Festival reminds me of when my youngest called me one day from University as she was walking to class. She was talking a mile a minute, faster than I had ever heard her talk. The first thing she said was, “Mom, I just had two cups of Turkish coffee. They were really small, but really strong,” and then she just kept talking…..lol. I finally suggested she call her brother and chat because I was at work and needed to get back to it. It still makes me smile when I think about it. She never has been much of a coffee drinker, and at that time, I don’t think she drank it at all.

    I’m glad you had a great day weatherwise, too! Nice break from the painting, painting, painting!

    xo Linda

  • Cheryl says:

    What a nice way to spend an afternoon! The photos are quite nice and so much looks familiar. And though I live here, I have never seen the wrestling except on the TV ! So you got to see it really- while most of us in Turkey haven’t 🙂 And those blue beads for protection really work ! No one in my large family has had a car accident since we hung one off the rear view mirrors and they are so pretty 🙂 and most are made of recycled glass. There is a village not too far from my city where we went to see them making beads… They have agreements with restaurants in the city for the empty Raki (liquor) bottles which become the glass beads. Really interesting. Happy that you & your hubby had some fun after all the painting:)

  • Doris says:

    Any socks? I love Anatolian hand knit socks the designs are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Turkish Handcrafts at Sewjournal.

meta

