Look what I found on my weekend away

May 2, 2012 § 6 Comments

I went away for the weekend with two sewing friends. We hired a house near the beach and it was lovely. I took some pictures for you with my mobile phone but while it co-operated in taking them it wouldn’t store them anywhere – at least nowhere I’ve been able to find so I can’t show you the lovely beach and the dolphins that we saw close in to shore. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

The find

However, on the way to the coast we stopped at a quilt shop I didn’t even know existed. It’s  called the Quilt Patch and is in South Nowra. I hadn’t intended to buy any fabric. As you know I’ve put myself on a fabric fast and am only allowed to by fabric I actually need for a particular project. Anyway I was rifling through the fat quarters – as you do – and look what I found!

Do you remember I was looking for this fabric range a while back and couldn’t find it anywhere?
I had originally bought a few fat quarters from a shop I visited in upstate NY but they were leftovers and there was no more to be had. I used what I had in the Lily wall-hanging.

And here on the south coast of NSW I found 17 fat quarters. Well I had to buy them didn’t I? Especially as I have been searching for a background I liked to make this Camelot quilt and this is perfect for it.

Just to prove that we did actually sew…

I hand-pieced these blocks for my sawtooth quilt while we were away.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Look what I found on my weekend away

  • Linda says:

    Wow, what a find! Isn’t it funny how when you stop looking for something, it pops up right in front of you. Of course you had to buy them. It would have been criminal not to! And, I can’t wait to see your Camelot quilt. It is exquisite! Nice work on your sawtooth blocks. I’m amazed you had time for piecework, what with all the chatting, laughing and friendship going on… 😎

    xo Linda

  • Annette, La says:

    Well, I have to admit I got a little wistful at reading of your great get-away! And then for you to have such a lucky find! Those fq’s are sure lovely! I love the look of that Camelot quilt and if you keep baiting me with pictures of it I can’t guarantee I will be able to resist! Can’t wait to see yours!!!

  • sylvia says:

    WONDERFUL!!! lol

  • Doreen says:

    Those fq’s are exquisite! They are perfect for that project and to find such a large number of them…….”meant to be”! Thrilled for you! Have taken the same ‘pledge’ and am desperately trying to use my unbelievably out-of-control stash (by some people’s standards it probably isn’t that bad, but the number of quilts residing in ‘uncut’ condition is quite large…..hehe!). Can’t wait to see this next project in progress…….enjoy!!! Hugs, Doreen

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Too bad about the photos! But the fabrics are gorgeous. Glad you had a good getaway.

  • cheryl says:

    something like murphy’s law with the fat Qs but nice that you found them – even nicer sounding was the weekend… looking fwd to see how you use those FQs!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Look what I found on my weekend away at Sewjournal.

meta

