The Japanese Feathers Scarf is Finished – Free Scarf Pattern

April 4, 2012 § 6 Comments

Last weekend I washed and blocked the Japanese Feathers Scarf I’ve been working on. These flexible, superfine blocking wires make it so much easier than when I blocked the shawl with pins alone.

Anyway here’s the finished article.

I showed it to my daughter on a FaceTime call the other day and she likes it so it should be winging it’s way to the northern hemisphere sometime soon.

Free Scarf Pattern

I used a 2ply 100% Italian Merino Yarn called Ella Rae and 4.5mm needles.

I got the pattern for the Japanese Feather Lace stitch from the the Knitting Fool Website here. The stitch pattern uses multiples of 11 plus 1 but I added three knit stitches at the beginning and end and used 6 repeats. So I cast on 73 stitches.
So my pattern reads:
Row 1 knit
Row 2 knit
Row 3 knit
Rows 4 to 32 knit 3 – follow the lace pattern here – knit 3.
Repeat the last 28 rows until your scarf is the desired length then knit 3 plain rows.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The Japanese Feathers Scarf is Finished – Free Scarf Pattern

  • Linda says:

    It’s lovely, and what a nice momma you are to send it to your daughter. Is it a surprise? My sister knitted me a shawl similar to that that I wore with my formal gown to my high school prom in 1964. I had it for years and years, and I just realized that I don’t know what happened to it…… 8-|

    xo Linda

  • sylvia says:

    Beautiful!

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Gorgeous. It is really pretty and feminine looking
    I looked at the Japanese Feather stitch and I don’t know what “ssk” stands for. Can you tell me? thanks!! Maybe someday I will try this.

  • Joan says:

    Hello Munaiba,
    That is absolutely beautiful, and I am going to “attempt” a similar one. I say similar as I’m not a very good knitter and goodness knows what it will turn out like!!
    Could you tell me though, what the finished measurement was, please?
    Enjoy your blog.
    Joan in Australia

    • sewjournal says:

      Hi Joan
      Good luck with the scarf. I had to undo it a fair bit to begin with but when I concentrated and had the pattern in my head it was quite easy. When it was blocked the scarf measured 38cm wide and 135 cm long.
      Cheers

      Munaiba

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Japanese Feathers Scarf is Finished – Free Scarf Pattern at Sewjournal.

meta

