Blocking Wires, Yarn and Chocolate Cake!

March 31, 2012 § 2 Comments

Blocking Wires

I’m sorry I’ve been absent but I’ve been very busy and and a little “blog-lazy”.

I’ve finished knitting my Japanese Feather scarf and the other day my ultrafine blocking wires arrived so I’m hoping to get it blocked this weekend so I can show you the finished product next week.

I bought these from Inspinknity and I notice at the moment they have free US and Canada shipping and $5 international shipping until the end of the 31st March. If you’re in the market for these then you better be quick.

 

2 ply Cashmere Yarn

I also bought a ball of the finest Cashmere 2ply I have ever seen from Knitters’ Addiction.

It’s so fine (100g = 1000 yards!) that I really gave up on knitting lace with it because it looked so unstructured. It is no exaggeration to say that I knitted and undid at least 15 or 20 different patterns trying to find one that looked good with yarn this fine.

The photo doesn’t really show you how fine it is. A friend actually thought it was single ply it is so fine.

I ended up opting for a 6 stitch rib which is light and airy and classic. I’ll show you soon.

Chocolate Cake

I have found what I believe to be THE BEST chocolate cake recipe I have ever tasted. I found the recipe on the Cadbury site here.

You know me though, I had to tweak it a little. My tweaks were: I substituted Flora ProActiv Buttery margarine for the butter and I added 1 cup of frozen raspberries to the final batter. I didn’t make any icing/frosting as I didn’t have icing sugar in my pantry but it really didn’t need it.

The cake was rich and moist and light and it really didn’t leave you feeling weighed down. It was so moist and the raspberries just took it to a whole other taste sensation! What’s more as the cake aged it got moister and tastier not drier. A real winner!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Blocking Wires, Yarn and Chocolate Cake!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blocking Wires, Yarn and Chocolate Cake! at Sewjournal.

meta

