The finished shawl

March 14, 2012 § 6 Comments

Well all that careful, if amateurish, blocking paid off. Here’s the finished shawl and I’m really pleased with the way it turned out. I took the “crumpled” photo so you can see how beautifully it drapes. I do have a question for you experienced lace knitters out there. Do you have to re-block the shawl every time you wash it??

This shawl pattern was a free one from Ravelry called Easy as Pie by Marisa Hernandez. You can access it here if you’re interested.


And just to divert myself because a watched, blocked, shawl never dries I whipped up this Banana and Blueberry cake with no added sugar. It really is delicious.If you’re interested I can post the recipe.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The finished shawl

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    It turned out just lovely. I love those free on line patterns and have also used some of their instructions for finishing toes on socks.

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Oh that is so lovely and lacey and airy. You did a great job on it and yes, I downloaded the pattern too.

  • Doreen says:

    I am always up for a banana bread recipe!!!! Lovely lace! Haven’t done that in a long time and, as I mentioned in the previous post comments, will have to postpone a project like that for a while. Just got a notice from my guild that they are in need of several QOV in the next few weeks.

  • Annette, La says:

    So lovely! It turned out just wonderful. I have to ask, when you say “blocking” what do you mean and what do you do?

  • Peggy S says:

    Love the shawl and the color is so-o-o pretty. Thanks for posting. I would love the banana/blueberry recipe. I’m always on the lookout for sugarless recipes.

  • Doris says:

    Hi Munaiba,
    Yes, lace must be blocked after every washing. Depending on the item this can be easy or extremely tedious. A comparison of the unblocked measurements with the pattern’s published finished measurements will clue you in or how you want the finished lace to look–open or not so open. Some lace items are designed not to require extensive blocking for example my lace tablecloth I designed to require only moderate blocking which I can accomplish by placing wet on the table & stretching by hand with no pins required. Other items I’ve made require extensive blocking on a blocking surface–hundreds of pins & hours required–the Christening Layette for my grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The finished shawl at Sewjournal.

meta

