A Slow Learner…

March 6, 2012 § 5 Comments

Some people never learn, do they? I think I might be one of those.  😦

A few days ago while I was lace knitting the end came off my needle. I didn’t think much about it and I just pushed it back on. Needless to say a little later it came off again and all the stitches fell off the back! That’s when I remembered that I did this once before!

I mentioned it on Facebook and Jas told me about safety lines and posted a link. I followed the link and thought what a clever idea it was to put one in. So did I? Ermm, no.

So then my hand slipped while I was knitting the very hard part at the edge and I lost stitches back several rows and I couldn’t pick them up in the right order and because I didn’t have a safety line in I had to unpick every stitch individually to get to a complete row.

Guess what I did this evening? That’s right and here it is…

I might be a slow learner but eventually I did learn. 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to A Slow Learner…

  • sylvia says:

    There’s hope for you yet! 🙂 I’ve had things just like this happen to me, but I would have just given up… good for you and your perseverance…

  • Annette says:

    Glad you got your stitches all picked up again, but I can imagine that was a hard lesson 🙂

  • Doreen says:

    In all the years I have been a knitter (and it’s MANY!), I have never heard of a “safety line” and I canNOT say how many times that trick would have saved hours(?) of lost time and frustration!!!! Thank you so much for the info. Just watched a YouTube presentation. So simple! Some of us (me, included!) learn the hard way……takes several times, even! Have a great day! Hugs, Doreen

  • Doris says:

    In the USA these are known as life lines! BTW I think I’d reconsider the brand of needles. I’ve never, ever had an end come off a needle–something’s definitely amiss! Addi Turbos are my hands down fave.

  • Linda says:

    Munaiba,
    It’s nice to know that, however late, you have learned from your mistake! Maybe your little accident is why I have never attempted to make anything from the lace weight yarn in my stash….lol.

    xo Linda

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Slow Learner… at Sewjournal.

meta

