Free Motion Quilting

February 6, 2012 § 3 Comments


Do you FMQ? I’ve tried it but haven’t practised enough. You may recall that a while back I took Deborah Louie’s Machine Quilting Classes but I haven’t really done much since then.I have done a few Stitch in the Ditchers and Straight Liners but no FMQ.

I recently found the Craftsy Website and they had a special on and so I purchased their Free Motion Quilting and More Video classes. While the teacher seems a little distracted and could do with putting her thought in order before she films, I have found it reasonably helpful. I’m half way through and I really like the video platform. You can take notes on the page during the video and when you do it stops the video and bookmarks the place so you can revisit it. Very clever!

 

How about some FREE FMQ?

The Quilt Show has offered everyone free access to their FMQ videos for Super Bowl Sunday so here’s the link. These lessons also include instructions for spray basting on a wall. Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Free Motion Quilting

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    We all seem to start with stitch in a ditch, or shadow quilting, or grids, but once I gave myself time to get used to FMQ I found it was much easier. It was just not as formal until I’d had even more practice. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to do things like perfect free motion feathers and such, but I’m very happy with what I do these days.

    With your desire to do things well, believe me you are going to do fantastic work. I love what you’ve already trialled.

  • Linda says:

    Thanks for the info, Munaiba! So far I’ve only watched the first one, but I’ll be looking at the others a little later tonight. You’re FMQ looks a whole lot better than the little bits that I’ve tried……..sigh. The pros make it look sooooo easy, it’s almost mean to the rest of us…lol.

    How are your wrists? Better, I hope.

    xo Linda

  • Fran says:

    I’ve taken a class in FMQ and done a few small projects, bur don’t find it very much fun. I can’t stitch in the ditch with FMQ, but can do some random designs. I don’t have the patience to practice enought to get any good, but applaude for giving it your all. Good luck and post some of your work.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Free Motion Quilting at Sewjournal.

meta

