Book Review – A Field Guide to Fabric Design by Kimberly Kight

January 23, 2012 § 2 Comments

A Field Guide to Fabric Design by Kimberly Kight

Kimberly Kight, author of the popular blog True up, has written a really wonderful introduction to fabric design. If you’ve ever visited Spoonflower or Karma Kraft and thought you’d like to design your own fabric then this book teaches you everything you need to know.

Kimberly shows you how to design by hand and how to handle those pesky “repeats” as well as how to do it all in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. If, like me, you can’t afford such expensive software then she also shows you where to find free software that will do much the same thing.

Every so often throughout the book Kimberly has what she calls a “round table” where a host of famous fabric designers, including Amy Butler, Denise Schmidt, Jessica Moore and Tula Pink, answer how they face particular design challenges such as inspiration overload or designer’s block and more.

This book takes you from the very beginning with baby steps and lots of hand-holding as you learn about fabric types and their suitability for printing, design aspects, colour choices and printing options, right through to how to design using software, how to register your copyright, how to market your designs and more.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I’m keen to give it a go myself. If you’re thinking of designing your own fabric this book is full of know-how as well as comprehensive lists of the resources you need to help you.

I got this book for review as an eBook and I have to say it displays very nicely on my iPad and that means it’s searchable too.

It’s published by C&T Publishing and is widely available online.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Book Review – A Field Guide to Fabric Design by Kimberly Kight

  • Linda says:

    Although I have never had any aspirations to design fabric, I am so in awe of those who can and do design! I just shake my head sometimes when I look at the beautiful designs and fabric lines of others. In the past people have called me talented for things I have made, but I always tell them, “no, I just follow directions well.” 😎

    xo Linda

  • Jodie says:

    Thank you so much M! Never did get around to purchasing it when we were initially told about it, so I shall now put it on the list for the next book buying binge. Sounds perfect – it will really be a big help to so many of us.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review – A Field Guide to Fabric Design by Kimberly Kight at Sewjournal.

meta

