The scarf/moebius/cowl – free knitting pattern

January 11, 2012 § 5 Comments

The Scarf

Well I finished my scarf and because of the way I did my lace pattern it snaked across the surface culminating in two angled ends instead of two straight ends. It furls really nicely. You can see in this photo here. (Ignore the wool hanging off the ends I hadn’t sewn them in at this stage.)

The Moebius

The above fact makes it easy to make a moebius (a twisted circle – for more info check here) as when the scarf is twisted then the two ends meet pefectly. The moebius is lovely becasue you can wear it in different ways. See below.

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

The Cowl

If you wind the moebius around your neck twice you get this lovely cowl effect. (You can also wear it as hood but I didn’t take photo of that.

All in all a very versatile garment and so soft in this lovely hand-dyed 4ply fine Australian Merino wool.

By the way don’t ask me what the tension for my pattern is because I don’t know. I didn’t measure it and I’m not planning on blocking this scarf so I can.

The Free Pattern

Materials

100g (380m – 415yds) of 4 ply sock wool

1 pair of 4mm needles (I used bamboo needles and when I measured them they were actually somewhere between 3.75mm and 4mm but it’s not that critical).

Method

Loosely cast on 66 stitches knitwise.

Row 1: Knit to the end of the row

Row 2: Knit to the end of the row

Row 3: Knit one *K2tog, yarn over* repeat from* to * until one stitch left and then knit.

Row 4: Knit one, purl until one stitch left then knit.

Repeat rows 3 and 4 until the scarf is the desired length or you have only enough yarn left for three more rows. Then knit two rows and loosely cast off purlwise.

Enjoy!

N.B. This pattern is given as is – all care taken and no responsibility accepted. If you don’t agree to this then please don’t use it.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The scarf/moebius/cowl – free knitting pattern

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The scarf/moebius/cowl – free knitting pattern at Sewjournal.

meta

