Scarf knitting again

January 6, 2012 § 7 Comments

I got the knitting bug over the break and I really wanted to knit a fine yarn lacy shawl. I’m a reasonably accomplished knitter but I have to say I had problems with the patterns I found. Some of them had instructions which were incorrect but which I didn’t find out until several hours into the shawl! I tried four different patterns and ended up undoing them all. One was my fault, somehow or other I kept making a mistake and having to undo it. What to do? Make my own pattern!

I decided to make a lacy scarf first and so I made up my pattern and got stuck in. Here is my progress so far. What do you think?


The yarn is a fine Merino sock yarn (4 ply) hand-dyed here in Sydney. It feels lovely but isn’t very well plied and starts to unwind and split. I’d still like to knit a lacy shawl so if you know a good pattern please let me know.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Scarf knitting again

  • Linda says:

    I’m at work right now, but I’ll look when I get home. I think I saved some lacy shawl patterns. Of course, I’m too cowardly to jump into any of them yet…lol. I wondered what you were up to. I hadn’t heard from you in a while. Yours looks lovely so far.

    xo Linda

  • Doris says:

    Check out Ravelry. Plenty of patterns & reviews.

    I personally wouldn’t knit any open work pattern that wasn’t charted. If I really love a text pattern, I always chart if first. Text is just too prone to errors.

    • sewjournal says:

      Hi Doris
      It was Ravelry patterns I had a problem with. I also don’t like charted patterns I find it too easy to lose my place. I much prefer text. However having said that, despite searching for free lacy shawl patterns some of the ones in your list I haven’t seen before. Thanks for taking the time to help.
      Cheers
      Munaiba

  • Doris says:

    Oops! That’s 88 Pages (about a dozen a page)!

  • Louise says:

    AH HA, the problem isn’t the knitter its the pattern. I’m so glad to hear that. It must be the season because I am also struggling with a knit pattern. Naturally Caron has a web site, I love the bamboo rayon yarn but can not get the lacy scarf more than a few rows and problems. Ready to pull my hair out. Perservere?

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    I used to design knitting and was paranoid about getting the instructions right, so I would write down every stitch (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) as I was inventing it. Then wrote out a ‘proper’ pattern from that, then re-knit the garment from the second pattern and if it went wrong I denied myself chocolate!

    All knitting patterns had designers who worked in a very careful way, but it seems it’s like editing books these days. It just isn’t done carefully any more. I read patterns through a couple of times before I start on something. It’s simply that I just do not trust the patterns.

    Good luck, the colour of the merino is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scarf knitting again at Sewjournal.

meta

