More on Mettler Thread

December 14, 2011 § 4 Comments

Quite a few people asked me about the Mettler threads that McCalls sent me that I mentioned in my last post so I thought I’d show them to you as well as the colour chart. The first picture is of the Silk Finish 100% cotton 50wt thread.

According to the back of the colour chart it does also come in 60wt which would be even nicer to use for appliqué. The specs sheet says that this thread is colour fast, has reduced shrinkage and is ironing resistant (not sure what the last bit means) and comes in heaps of beautiful colours. Take a look.

When I spoke about the other two samples they sent me I made a mistake. One was a waxed hand quilting thread but I had thought the other was a polyester thread for some reason but it’s not. It’s a 40wt machine quilting thread – 100% cotton. It’s the maroon coloured one in the photo below. I haven’t tried that one yet.

i hope this answers all the questions you had.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to More on Mettler Thread

  • Linda says:

    That IS a heap of colors! Yummy.

    xo Linda

  • sylvia says:

    I don’t know if you remember O’Susannah’s quilt shop in Watkins Glen (It’s the one where we sat in the rockers out front and Louise took our photo) but she carries the Mettler 60 wt thread. For several years each time I went there, I purchased a handful and that’s how I got my applique collection. I do like it a lot. She doesn’t have ALL those colors, but she has enough. 🙂

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Thanks for the info Munaiba!
    I am thinking that maybe iron resistant means that it won’t stretch with ironning. I am thinking that the 100% silk thread does – of course, I now have a huge collection of the silk now and love the way it hides itself BUT I am concerned about it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More on Mettler Thread at Sewjournal.

meta

