I can press!

November 4, 2011 § 3 Comments

This might not seem like much of an achievement to most of you but I am hopeless at pressing seams.

However, when I was in the States Sylvia showed me how to use a pressing ham. I found it so much easier so I bought one at JoAnn’s and carted it all the way home.

I used it for the first time today on my sample Camelot block which I was dreading pressing. The thought of all those bunched up seam allowances in the centre was the stuff of nightmares for me.

It was SO EASY! I can’t believe I’ve done without one all these years. Now if only I could buy an iron like the ones they have in the States. The irons over there seem heavier and seem to work much better. (That’s not only my opinion DH agrees.)

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I can press!

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I completely understand! I have never heard of anything that makes pressing easier. I know that when you piece by machine you iron all the seams one way but in hand piecing I wait until the block is finished. Sometimes when I join blocks I find a different direction would have been better…and sometimes when quilting I find the ditch has changed sides back to the first plan.

  • Samelias Mum says:

    I’ve never heard of a pressing ham? Is it something you attach to your iron? You’ve got me curious now 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I can press! at Sewjournal.

meta

