Finished at last!

October 6, 2011 § 10 Comments

At last I’ve finished the Kimono Quilt. I had to wait ages to find somewhere to baste it as it’s really too big to baste at home. Anyway now it’s done.The images below show where I machine quilted on either side of the seams to stabilise it, then I tied it in the middle of the Kimonos and then big-stitch hand quilted the borders.

Here’s the completed article.

And then I rewarded myself by making these yummy muffins and eating them while they were hot!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Finished at last!

  • Helen V says:

    Truly you amaze me with all you produce. I have a picture of you sewing day an night to get so much done. Congratulations and thanks for sharing with us. I will be closing off my internet on Sunday 9th October and going up north and not returning until November 20th. My husband is tutoring at the college in Exmouth and I am taking up my sewing machine and two big black garbage bags of my off cuts hoping to make inroads into them. Should get a few quilt tops done, well hopefully. Catch you when I get back. Regards, Helen V

    • sewjournal says:

      Thanks Helen. I’ll miss your lovely comments. I’ll be interested to see your “away” quilts when you get back. Have fun!

  • Christina says:

    Really lovely job, you ought feel really proud of it and you deserved the muffins.

  • Linda says:

    Lovely finish as usual. I especially love the kimono on the back. I like pieced backs. Those muffins do look yummy! Have one more for me.

    xo Linda

  • Cait Gordon says:

    It’s beautiful and I love the way you’ve quilted and finished it. Absolutely love the back … cheers, Cait

  • Julie says:

    I love the variety of different styles you try, you’re very adventurous…cheers Julie

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Looks great Munaiba! I like the back too. And I think I can smell the muffins.

  • Fran says:

    Love the quilt and the back is amazing. I really like the way you used different types of quilting. What a great birthday gift.

  • Marshall says:

    It looks gorgeous! I especially love the back. How large is it? Have you tried Sharon Schamber’s basting method? It’s been a lifesaver for me in my tiny apartment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finished at last! at Sewjournal.

meta

