In a Spin

September 19, 2011 § 8 Comments

Well I’ve sewn all the patches I had cut for my In a Spin quilt. The question now is “Where to from here?”. Here’s what it looks like at the moment.

Here is a list of alternatives I have open to me:

  1. cut extra patches to finish the half blocks around the edge and make the other two patches of each square the same colour as the border so that the spinning blocks appear to float.
  2. cut extra patches to finish the blocks and have a “jagged edge” which is then appliqued to the border fabric.
  3. just put some borders on it as it is
The question then is what colour border? White, bone, midnight (a very dark, almost black navy/purple). What do you think? Leave me a comment and let me know your thoughts.
Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to In a Spin

  • Lindi Jarman says:

    Love it! Which border looks best when you run a length of fabric around 2 half sides and a corner? Personally, I think I’d avoid the white. It gets dirty too quickly on a border and I think it might be a little stark. Me being me, I would have gone for that lovely green. 🙂 I suppose it depends on the effect you want as to whether you go navy or bone.

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    I think I would like option 1 and the midnight color.
    Looks great! and I am sure that you whatever you do will be fabulous.

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    Hi

    Looking at the colour option you have given, I too would go for the dark navy/purple as you don’t have any dark blocks on the edges, white would flatten it and bone would be too similar to some of your edge fabrics.

    I would also do option 1, it will highlight all the colours and look really good.

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I certainly like what you have done so far. I might be tempted to just add the border to that. Cutting and piecing more for an edge would be a lot of work but it is certainly an interesting idea if you have those fabrics left over. I feel a black or white border would be too much of a contrast. I like a light inner border no bigger than the narrowest part of the spinners and than a bit darker border. If you used a solid for the inner border, you might find a print that would pick up the colors in the blocks. Any way you do it, it will be lovely.

  • Dot says:

    I prefer darker borders… I’d just play with fabrics until I found one I like. On this quilt I’d be inclined not to use an inner border but to make the spinners float in one colour as in your first option. A batik or interesting tone-on-tone would be nice. It’s turning into a lovely quilt.

  • Sandy Leaman says:

    I would definitely go for Option 1 ….. and suggest a fabric that was not in any of the “windmills” that are around the edge of the piecing ….. for me it would be the very dark blue you mention. I feel that if you just put a border on it now it would look a bit odd. I made some small panels like this some years ago and, at the time, used a plain homespun for the border, but there are lots of other wonderful options in tone on tone fabrics that I didn’t know existed back then (about 6 years ago). I love the colours you have used.

  • Cheryl says:

    I think option 1 and a dark border – don’t think I would like white – I am doing white sashing on my black / white blocks only because a dark would “hide” the blocks, usually dont like a white border. Bone could be good buy don’t think it would show of the blocks & pattern as much as the dark. I like what you have done before so I am confident you will choose the “right” fabric 🙂

  • Fran says:

    Ditto Annette’s choice, #1 with the midnight border. It looks great.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In a Spin at Sewjournal.

meta

