Another Mistake or “Don’t wash quilts when you’re tired”!

September 13, 2011 § 3 Comments

My next mistake happened when I washed my Appliqué Sampler quilt. All day I had meant to wash it and I kept forgetting. Then mid evening I remembered and washed it but I was tired and not thinking straight. I forgot to add a Colour Catcher! To compound my problem I left the quilt in the washing machine for an hour or two after it had finished washing! You can guess what happened. These red batik tulips ran (shown here before the accident). So at 11.30 at night I was washing the affected spots and treating them with bleach on a cotton bud.

That seemed to fix the problem but I rinsed the quilt heavily and left it over a clothes rack overnight. Of course because I hadn’t dried off around the flowers it bled again and I had to repeat the process in the morning. The quilt isn’t badly damaged but if I hadn’t been tired I would have remembered the Colour Catchers! Speaking of which it appears that Coles aren’t going to stock them any more – at least my Coles – so I had to go searching at Woolworths for them.

When I get a photo from Sylvia of her Appliqué Sampler I’ll post photos of mine and Sylvia’s friend Louise’s as well. I think it’s interesting to see three interpretations of the same quilt.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Another Mistake or “Don’t wash quilts when you’re tired”!

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I have never found those here in Japan but I have seen on several blogs that even after the damage is done, they will remove that color on sucessive washes. Bleach scares me !

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Once a quilt runs(or anything for that matter), get some synthrapol at you LQS. It will take it out. It is wonderful stuff!

  • Louise says:

    I can imagine how you felt when you discovered the bleeding quilt. It sounds like the band aid is synthrapol and I will remember that handy dandy tip. There was an article about bleach stop to use on anything that was bleached. It said bleach continues to work and the bleach stop of course stops it. I too can’t wait to see the 3 together!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another Mistake or “Don’t wash quilts when you’re tired”! at Sewjournal.

meta

