In a Spin Tutorial

September 9, 2011 § 7 Comments

Here goes… First you need to cut pieces of each fabric you want to include in your quilt. [Edit: I used an OminGrid Offset Square Template like this.]Then assemble them on a design wall in a pattern you find pleasing. You will then need to cut some extra pieces of other fabrics to finish to edges and corners. Below is a picture of my design wall. The red box shows you the next pieces that I am going to sew together. You see when you sew this together you don’t sew the four pieces of a particular fabric together. You sew pieces of four different fabrics together to for a square. I think the following photos are self explanatory. Take a look.

Design wall with next block to be pieced outlined in red

Block ready to be pieced

Blocks ready for pinning

Pinned ready for sewing

Two halves sewn

The next step is to sew these two halves together to complete the block.

Halves aligned ready for pinning

Completed block ready to be sewn onto the row

Block sewn to the preceding blocks of the row

Once you have completed all the blocks in a row they can be sewn to the preceding rows.

Here is a photo of where I’m up to now. I’ve completed 6 rows. If you have questions feel free to ask.

I haven’t decided yet if this will be all or if I will add extra blocks to the outside some of which are plain so I can put a plain border on and make them look like they’re floating. I’ll keep you posted.

6 rows completed

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to In a Spin Tutorial

  • Naomi Vela says:

    Ummm did I miss whether you said about a template or pattern anywhere? lol Gotta forgive me, i’m a bit ‘blonde’ at times.

    hugs
    Naomi

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I think the biggest point is the design wall or a place to keep those little pieces organized. I like the fact that all you cut of each fabric is a square … no wonky scraps. Each time I do this, it is getting the parts in the right place that is so hard. I didn’t know the name of the pattern but I do like the results.

    • sewjournal says:

      Hi Julie
      I didn’t keep the pieces up on my design wall. I took them down in “piecing square” order and laid the pieces one on top of another in squares. I took a photo of the design wall in case I ever got confused.
      Cheers
      Munaiba

  • sylvia says:

    Thank you Munaiba. I just love that pattern. And may try it. Also thanks for the template link…

  • Cheryl says:

    very intriguing pattern… nice work Munaiba

  • Louise says:

    I loved it when I saw it and also may piece it because it sounds easier than it looks. I like to show things that are easier than they look to get undeserved oohs and aahs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In a Spin Tutorial at Sewjournal.

meta

