How I saved $19 and other things…

September 7, 2011 § 3 Comments

I know I said my next post would be how to sew the In a Spin blocks together but I haven’t done any that I could photograph since I last wrote. I promise it is on my agenda but in this post I’ll show you what I have been doing in the meantime and also how I saved $19.

What I’ve been up to

I’ve been sewing the binding on my Appliqué Sampler. I don’t know about you but when I come to sewing the two ends together I always get in a muddle and none of the methods I have tried have been easy (for me at least). So I had a long think about it and decided that planning is the key to making this part easy. Here’s what I did:

1. Once I had started sewing the binding on I measured 10″ from that point backwards and put a pin in to mark the spot.

 

2. Now I know that the piece needed to complete the binding is 10″. Then I sewed the binding on up to the pin marker.

 3. Next I removed the quilt from the machine and measured 5″ from one sewn end on the binding tail and marked it with a pin and then I did the same with the other end. Then I opened out the binding making sure that I left the pins in at the fold. I then put them right sides together at right angles where the pins met and pinned them in place.

 


4. I removed the fold pins, drew a line diagonally and then sewed the binding seam.


It worked perfectly. Now I know this technique may seem obvious to some but it wasn’t obvious to me and I had a real “Eureka” moment when I worked it out for myself. It was so easy! No more horrible binding hassles from now on!

How I saved $19

A while ago I bought a water decanter with a top that acted as a glass. Needless to say the glass broke and though I have similar glasses they do not quite look right. I remembered my great aunts used to have some doily-like things with beads sewn on to weight them down to cover jugs etc. So I set out to find some. I found them but they cost $25 each! The other weekend I went to Rozelle market and bought a lace doily with a muslin centre for $3 and a necklace with crystal and pearl beads for another $3. And I made this…

 … and I saved myself $19! It works just fine.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to How I saved $19 and other things…

  • Linda says:

    I’ve just been thinking of you and wondered when I would hear from you again, and there you were! 😎 Aren’t “Eureka” moments wonderful?!?! You feel so proud of yourself….lol. I’ve done that before. I can’t believe they were asking $25 for that little cover. How cool that you made your own, and saved that much money! You should sell some yourself, and use the money to increase your fabric stash…

    xo Linda

  • sylvia says:

    You tore a knecklace apart… hmmm wonder where you got that idea from? Lol

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    My number 1. rule. If it works, it is the right way!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How I saved $19 and other things… at Sewjournal.

meta

