A clever idea

August 16, 2011 § 3 Comments

When I stayed with Sylvia she gave me this very clever project carrier. It’s made from a placemat and uses zip-lock bags. I’ve found it very useful. If I were making one I think I would add a strap across the back and front. The reason – I use cork-backed placemats when I’m piecing. I have one that I’ve glued sandpaper to to allow me to draw around templates when I’m cutting out shapes.The other I use to lay out the pieces I’m currently working on and I use the cork side. If they were slipped under a strap on this project carrier it would also give the carrier a bit of stiffness which would stop it from collapsing on itself when it has heavy items like scissors in it.


Thanks Sylvia. A very cute, clever  and useful gift that I’ve been using to take to sit and sew since I came back from the USA.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to A clever idea

  • sylvia says:

    As always Munaiba, you’ve made a good idea even better! lol I’m so glad you like it. I’ve made several thru the years and given them as gifts. Always on the look out for a neat placemat! lol So glad you use it.

  • Linda says:

    Very nice! Sylvia is a great friend to have. I can see it being really useful to take to your sewing group, although I’m afraid in a group setting I would do more talking and less sewing!

    xo Linda

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A clever idea at Sewjournal.

meta

