Three Girls Go to Gettysburg…

August 4, 2011 § 5 Comments

I was sorry to leave Sylvia’s place. I felt so at home there. We had some lovely times. One of my favourites was a quiet supper on the front porch watching the Ruby-Throated Humming Birds and enjoying the deep peacefulness of the surrounding woods.


After a fun 5 days in Lindley, NY Sylvia, Louise and I took off for Gettysburg, Pa. I can’t remember what we talked about but I know there wasn’t a moment’s silence the whole trip!

Right next to this out of focus cornfield was a small house with Amish Quilts draped over fences and bushes. Unfortunately we were travelling too quickly for me to aim and shoot the camera in time and I got the cornfield instead!

We got to Gettysburg in the afternoon and went and explored a bit. Gettysburg was where one of the most famous battles of the civil war took place and also where Abraham Lincoln delivered his famous Gettysburg Address on November 19, 1863. There are lots of shops selling period costumes for all the re-enacters. There is also a statue of Abe Lincoln in the main street but there were too many people having their photo taken with him so I didn’t take a picture. Here are a few I did take.

We were very good and only visited one quilt shop and kept the others for when Fran joined us the next day. Stay tuned for Four Girls in Gettysburg…

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Three Girls Go to Gettysburg…

  • Linda says:

    You are wild and crazy women! 😎

    xo Linda

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I almost feel likeI am there. Then for sure it wouldn’t be quiet!

  • Cheryl says:

    It is really peaceful there – and so many different birds – looking forward to the next installment:)

  • sylvia says:

    I can’t remember what all was in that impromptu dinner out on the porch but we sure had fun. Those few humming birds have grown to 10 or so. You can hardly sit out on the porch now in peace! lol

    I have to laugh at Munaiba posting the photo of the cornfield. I DID try to slow down so she could photo the quilts but traffic wouldn’t let me! lol

    We had such a delightful time in Gettysburg, Pa. I would love to get my husband to go with me some time. It was the weekend of the BIG battle the 148 years ago and it was so interesting to see people walking around in their period costumes and living the part.

    That evening the three of us settled into the motel room and Munaiba taught us back basting and a few other applique tricks. We still never ran out of things to talk and laugh about. Amazing to me how three women got along like we’d known each other all our lives! A true spirit of friendship.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Three Girls Go to Gettysburg… at Sewjournal.

meta

