Needles Quilt Shop, the Wellsboro Diner and the Hideaway Cabin

July 25, 2011 § 3 Comments

Before I show you some more photos I’ll just answer some of the questions raised in the comments on the last post.

Linda – yes that’s me in that photo

Fran – Thanks and I’m looking forward to visiting again too.

Cheryl – I guess what I find different in the homes I showed is that slightly “grand homes” in Australia are not usually made of weatherboards like these ones are. The grander homes are made of brick or stone. I find the larger weatherboard homes very picturesque.

Needles Quilt Shop

This Wellsboro quilt shop is my favourite of all the ones I visited. Mainly because of the people. They were lovely and so amazingly helpful. The shop has a really nice balance between modern and old-fashioned values.

I was looking for a plain “cheddar” fabric for my friend Di (3) and though they didn’t have it as a plain they went out of their way to find a real cheddar as documented in a book of civil war fabrics. The they searched their shelves to find a fabric that I could use as a sample to search for it in other shops and they gave me a sample.

Thanks Mary and Katie.

The Wellsboro Diner

While in Wellsboro Sylvia and I had a late lunch (3.20pm – time flies when you’re having fun) at the Wellsboro Diner which is one the very few original diners left. This one opened for business in 1940 and is really a cute place to eat. The food was really good too. I had real hash browns – the best I ever tasted – crunchy on the outside and soft and creamy in the centre.

The Hideaway cabin

Sylvia has a lovely hideaway cabin on the slopes of those wooded hills you saw in the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon in the previous post. (At least I think that’s where it is. You know how it is when you’re a passenger you tend to lose all sense of direction. – Sylvia please correct me if I’m wrong.) It’s a lovely one bedroom cabin that she and her husband Wayne are renovating. It was great to sit on the porch and swing on a real porch swing – something I’ve never done before.

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Needles Quilt Shop, the Wellsboro Diner and the Hideaway Cabin

  • Anya says:

    You’ll never find any friendlier quilt shop owners than Mary and Katie. We love them here in Wellsboro!

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    Such a nice trip and great pictures! My grandparents had a swing like that on their porch. It brings back memories looking at your pictures.

  • Doris says:

    Hi Munaiba,
    I have a similar reaction when I visit the UK–everything is stone. The reason, especially in the Northeast, USA, for all the wood houses is that there was a lot of forest to clear for towns & farms. Think of the entire Northeast covered in the forests you visited. In the USA we call that horizontal siding clapboard–no idea why.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Needles Quilt Shop, the Wellsboro Diner and the Hideaway Cabin at Sewjournal.

meta

