Rulers continued

June 27, 2011 § 2 Comments

I have four different square rulers. A 12.5″, a 9.5″, an 8.5″ and 6.5″. These I used a lot when I was making my Wonky Canasta quilt.

And I also have a special triangle cutting ruler. This Wondercut ruler is quite a clever idea. I have played with it but not used it for an actual project yet.

In addition to all these fancy rulers I have a 22″ and a 12″ ruler.


Many of these rulers were bought for half price at a closing down sale with the thought that “when I get onto more complex quilts I will need them”. Hmmm!

So what rulers do you have, and do you use them all? And has anyone used the Cutting Edge rulers that are supposed to sharpen your rotary cutter as you use it? If you have, please let me know what you think of them.

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Rulers continued

  • Deborah says:

    My most heavily used ruler is my 12 1/2″ square – its the one that sits on the table and is used over and over again. Unfortunately this means that the paint wears off. I realize there are other brands that have engraved markings – but they tend to be yellow – a color that I find tiring to work with. My latest experiment is to coat the painted side with clear contact to see if this improves the life of the ruler…….

  • sewjournal says:

    My favorite rulers are the Creative Grid rulers. They’re clear with black and white marks for light and dark fabrics. They also can be read from either direction. NO turning over. 🙂 They have friction dots built right in to help prevent ruler slippage. AND usually come with a half inch add on. I have them in the 24 1/2″ X 8 1/2″ length, a 6 1/2″ square one, a 3 1/2″ square one, a 1 1/2″ X 6 1/2′ one, a 12 1/2” X 3 1/2″ one and a 12 1/2 X 6 1/2″ one. BUT the one I loved best was the one I had cut at a local hard ware store made of plexiglass to help me square up some embroidery blocks. NO marks other than the ones I put on it, and cut to the exact cut size of 16 blocks. Only cost me a few dollars and well worth the money!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rulers continued at Sewjournal.

meta

