What are your favourite rulers?

June 26, 2011 § 4 Comments

Do you have many rulers? I’d be interested to know which are your favrouites.

I have quite a few different rulers. Some I use a lot and some less frequently. I have these Westalee rulers which are an Australia invention. They have a black fabric guide that you butt up against your fabric edge.

Then I have this one which helps you cut circles which, as you can see by the fact that it is still shrink wrapped, I have never used.

 

I also have one that helps you draw circles. This one proved very useful when I was making the Labyrinth quilt.

And that’s not all! More tomorrow.

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to What are your favourite rulers?

  • MarciaW says:

    I like a similar long ruler like the one you mentioned …. and for small cuts and square up the Omnigrid rulers.

  • Dot says:

    Hi Munaiba, I have one of those circle rulers too, still shrink wrapped, but I need to draw a circle at the moment so it might make it out (but then again I might just use a saucer if I have one the right size LOL)
    Apart from that, I have far too many rulers, including a couple of the Westalee ones which I still think are a brillian idea, but which I don’t use as much as I should because they involve finding the screwdriver. The ones I use all the time are the 24 x 6 1/2 and 12 x 6 1/2 inch long rulers and the 4 1/2, 6 1/2, 9 1/2 & 12 1/2 inch squares. One day I will use my kaleidoscope triangle ruler to make a 1000 triangle quilt and a kaleidosope quilt for me out of my beloved and much fondled reproduction collection.
    This week I plan to cut out my daughter’s wedding quilt which starts with 16 inch squares. Now yesterday I saw a 16 1/2 inch ruler which would make cutting that out a breeze, but it cost $67 so I left it behind and bought fabric instead. Now I’ll have to improvise!

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    I purchased 2 new rulers last month by Cutting Edge. They have diamond chips on the edge so that the rotary blade is sharpened when you cut. I eked another 2 weeks out of an old blade with them so far. Amazon carries them.
    As far as size goes, I like the 6 by 8 in rulers and the 8.5 by 24 in. I also have a 24 in square ruler that I use to square up my quilts with.
    I found it on sale thankfully (for $24 USD).

  • Judy says:

    I love the Westalee’s – being a very, very novice quilter I find that I can get very accurate cutting with these. Also have the round one – still in the original packaging, brought it when I first started machine embroidery about 6 years ago. 🙂
    Still have a couple of shaped Westalee’s that I am hoping our patchwork/quilting instructor will be teaching us how to use.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What are your favourite rulers? at Sewjournal.

meta

