Has anyone used one of these?

June 8, 2011 § 8 Comments

I’ve seen what looks like a great idea at the US website the Fabric Depot. This is it…

 

It’s a Fons & Porter design wall. It’s flannel on one side and the other is vinyl with a grid and diagonal lines marked on it. The lines show through to the flannel making it easy to line up your blocks.  I’ve never used a design wall and at US$18.75 plus postage this looks like a great idea. Has anyone of you used one? And if so, do you like it? Please let me know what your experience of it is.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Has anyone used one of these?

  • This is the exact one that I purchased last winter. I’m very pleased with it. There’s a photo in my post yesterday if you’d like to see it in action.

  • DianeY says:

    I have one & I like it very much. I have it hung with those little plastic hooks with adhesive that don’t leave a mark if you remove them. It’s pretty much big enough for most of the quilts I make. I really like the grid marks-they are faint enough to not distract, but readily visible when you are putting blocks up and the diagonal make it easy to set it on point. I bought it on sale, too, and considered it a great purchase. And a design wall is such an improvement over the floor!

  • Nan says:

    I don’t have one of those, however, I use the back of vinyl cloth fabric (like you use for table covers). I bought 2 yards off of a roll. I went through all the rolls and found the one with the “heaviest amount of flannel”. Very inexpensive and fabric sticks to it beautifully. I have been using it for about 9 years! Just a thought. No grid lines, but don’t find that not having them has been an issue!

  • Lorianne says:

    I have 2 of them. Got them both on sale. I have used them at retreats and in my sewing room. I just can’t live without them now. Had them about a year. I use the 3M strip hooks to hang them up. You will get a lot of use out of it. I used to use the floor, but never again! Love it! It is worth the price sale or not.

  • Dot says:

    You’ll find a design wall really helpful Munaiba… it’s great to be able to stand back from your quilt and get the overall effect of your work. Having it vertical seems to be much better than a floor or a table. I don’t ahve one of these, just use a polyfleece throw… I made a hel and threaded through a narrow curtain rod and I suspend it from the top of the dresser next to my dining table using two skirt hangers. It all comes down and rolls up when I need the dining table for something other than sewing!

  • Fran says:

    Like Nan, l’ve used a flannel backed plastic table cloth for years. i think I paid $2.00 for it at Walmart. Recently I made a design wall using grey fleece attached to insullation panels. I spray glued the fleece to the panels. They are light weight so I can move them around, but they don’t fold up which would be a real plus. I just might look into that Fons and Porter thing. It would be nice to keep a block in order while sewing.

    Either way Munaiba, a design wall is a “must have”

  • Doris says:

    A large design wall is a must. I recently turned the entire end of my workroom into a design wall 8′ x 16′. I can have 2 quilts on it at once. I made it like Fran out of insulation board then glued camel colored wool felt to it. (White is not the best color because it comes forward instead of receding.) I attached the covered insulation boards to the wall with mounting tape. Very light. Kaffe & Liza Lucy use insulation boards which are duck taped together so they both fold & free stand. I agree with Fran an absolute must have.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Has anyone used one of these? at Sewjournal.

meta

