Quilting and the Safety Pins

June 6, 2011 § 5 Comments


I’ve been hand quilting the prayer quilt. Small stitches on the diamonds and larger Perle 8 quilting on the background. And then when I took out one of the safety pins that was in the way this is what I found! The reason I hardly ever use these pins.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Quilting and the Safety Pins

  • jan Weisser says:

    this is where you applique a tiny little flower or cross, something that will accent your quilt. Those things happen and I don’t know any way around it. It’s looking great, love your stitches.

    • sewjournal says:

      Unfortunately this wasn’t possible on this quilt Jan so I had to try to pull the tread back through and hope the pull wasn’t visible.

  • Eileen says:

    Your work is beautiful. I use safety pins as thought of using straightvpins literally makes me sick to my stomach…have been pricked way too much from them. Sometimes you can smoosh threads around but love the idea of adding a little embroidery over. You could also tuck in the little thread and maybe put a dab of fray check on it or that glue called ok to wash it by aleen’s

  • Joan says:

    I know what you mean, Munaiba. I have had that happen to me, so now I run them through a piece of waste cloth first to see if they have any burrs on them that are only discovered when pulling out, (when it is too late) and not when pushing through.
    I love seeing your work, and I aspire to such neat, even stitches as yours. I hope you managed to pull the thread back as it is such a shame to have that happen.

  • Quilting says:

    What a shame to have this happen when you have done such beautiful work. Always check any pins is a good idea as those burrs always seem to show up in the most inconvenient locations. Probably you will be the only one to really notice it though.
    Happy quilting.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quilting and the Safety Pins at Sewjournal.

meta

