More thimble talk…

May 20, 2011 § 3 Comments

Thanks for your comments about thimbles.

Linda, I was like you originally. I could never wear a thimble and I think I tried every one under the sun until I found this Clover one. It is so comfortable I have been known to wash my hands and realise I’m still wearing it. Having said that, I still often forget to put it on.

Sylvia and Doris it sounds like you have lovely “high-end” thimbles and are enjoying them a great deal.

Julie, what a shame you lost your silver thimble, especially one that marked a family tradition and a special birthday.

Cindi I’ve used those pads but I found the glue seemed to spread out from under the pad and then stick to the thread or worse still the batting!

For those of you who would like to drool at silver thimbles, take a look at these sites:

Collectable silver thimbles

Personalised silver thimbles

TJ Lane’s silver thimbles

and these beautiful Roxanne’s Thimbles. I think I’d like one of these if I could be sure I could get the correct size. (And if I could afford it 🙂 )

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to More thimble talk…

  • Cindi says:

    I’m wondering if we’re talking about the same pads. I use the Thimble-It pads (http://www.colonialneedle.com/cgi-bin/quikstore.cgi) They don’t use glue, more of a double-stick tape kind of thing. I’ve never had a problem with them sticking to anything but my finger. Shoot, I forget I’ve got them on and have even washed my hands without them coming off! I wish I could use a regular thimble – they’ve got so many pretty ones out there!!

  • Doris says:

    You might want to contact Didi through the Roxanne International website & ask for retailers in Australia or find out if Didi will be in Sydney soon. Or you can buy a sizer:
    http://www.thatperfectstitch.com/products.html

    I think you might really like the Roxanne. Some people think it’s heavy but I always forget I’m wearing it. After loosing one, I now put a finger cot over the thimble!

  • sue in roseville says:

    I have 2 thimbles I love. One is a cheap old brass one that was in a jumble bag of needlework things I picked up at an antique shop. In addition to nice deep dimples the tip has a little ridge around the edge so if the needle slips out of the dimple it catches on the edge of the thimble.

    And I have a Roxanne — it is a bit heavy at first, but there’s really nothing like having a thimble fit perfectly and I’ve forgotten I’ve had it on too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More thimble talk… at Sewjournal.

meta

