Flying Geese – Waste-Free Method

May 14, 2011 § 7 Comments

The Flying Geese block is one of my favourite blocks. I like it in all its forms, from Dutchman’s Puzzle to Strings of Geese.

Recently I came across away of making them doesn’t waste any fabric. It uses one large square and four small squares of fabric.

I thought I’d share the links with you. The first link is to a pdf that gives instructions on how to execute the “no-waste” method. I found the pdf a little hard to follow at first. However, I then found this second link which goes to a webpage that demonstrates the technique with photos. I’ve included both links because the pdf can be printed out, and once you have read the demonstration page the pdf becomes very clear. It’s nice to have a printed copy to file away for when you need it.

I also found a third link to a Google doc that shows the whole technique and calculates the square sizes needed for a variety of Geese sizes. I hope you find these helpful.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Flying Geese – Waste-Free Method

  • Nan says:

    Thank you so much for all this information! You never cease to amaze me!

  • Sue says:

    Have you seen the Ricky Tims one seam flying geese

    I was thinking of using this for my month of Bee in Oz – batiks with black

    • sewjournal says:

      Hi Sue
      Yes I did see that but it seemed to make for quite a bulky block and waste a lot of fabric.
      Cheers
      Munaiba

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    Hi Munaiba

    This is my favourite method of doing flying geese. I really don’t like waste. The Ricky Tims one is for a 3D block and I like it too.

    Keep up the good work.

  • Linda says:

    Hi Munaiba,

    Thanks for the great tips on flying geese. I haven’t tackled them yet, but I know I will be doing it in the near future. As always, you are the best! 😎

    xo Linda

  • sue in roseville says:

    cool — thanks for sharing the links! I have a project going where I’m going to need to do a lot of different sized flying geese and this is sure going to come in handy

  • sue in roseville says:

    cool — thanks for sharing the links! I have a project going where I’m going to need to do a lot of different sized flying geese and this is sure going to come in handy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flying Geese – Waste-Free Method at Sewjournal.

meta

