Spatially challenged

May 9, 2011 § 3 Comments

I’m sure I’ve told you before that I’m spatially challenged. If there is a way to put something together back to front or upside down then I’ll find it – and find it easily. Next month (June) is my turn in the Bee in Oz. I was trying to decided what I wanted my partners to make and I decided I liked this jewelled geese block. I have two Kaffe Fassett Jelly Rolls and so I thought I would use those. So I laid out my fabric to see how many I needed to make a 12.5″ block.

After a minor mishap where, having cut the smaller pieces to the correct size I decided I had it wrong and made them smaller and it turned out that, that was wrong, I actually managed to make one quarter of the block.

The real problem happened when I started on another quarter in a different fabric. I made one “goose” and that was fine.

Then when I came to make the second one I sewed one side the wrong way round and ended up with this!

However, while I can’t use it for this block I can see a couple of ways in which this shape could be useful.

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Spatially challenged

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    You are so funny. I am a substitute teacher and one day I was subbing for the special ed teacher and while the kids were working on various projects, I was making a poster to be used in the library. I had just made a big 3 and was looking at it to see if I liked it. The kids came over and pointed out I had made it backwards. Then they looked at me questioningly as to how I could be a teacher and an adult and not know which way a three goes. I told them when I was a kid I thought if I could just grow up, all those problems would go away but I found out that adults just get better at hiding those faults so find your strengths and use them to overcome your weaknesses and learn to laugh at the rest. Everyone has failings but some are better hiding them than others.

  • Pat in Washington says:

    Oh, good. I’m so glad it’s not only me that gets distracted and sews things together wrong sides together or upside down or goofy in some way. I usually blame my cat, Tigger.

  • Doris says:

    Glad I’m not the only one! I can really concentrate but get whatever together wrong. Then really, really concentrate & do it wrong again. And not infrequently again. Particularly when I’m working in 3 dimensions like sewing garments but occasionally when I’m piecing.

Leave a Reply

Spatially challenged

May 9, 2011 § 3 Comments

I’m sure I’ve told you before that I’m spatially challenged. If there is a way to put something together back to front or upside down then I’ll find it – and find it easily. Next month (June) is my turn in the Bee in Oz. I was trying to decided what I wanted my partners to make and I decided I liked this jewelled geese block. I have two Kaffe Fassett Jelly Rolls and so I thought I would use those. So I laid out my fabric to see how many I needed to make a 12.5″ block.

After a minor mishap where, having cut the smaller pieces to the correct size I decided I had it wrong and made them smaller and it turned out that, that was wrong, I actually managed to make one quarter of the block.

The real problem happened when I started on another quarter in a different fabric. I made one “goose” and that was fine.

Then when I came to make the second one I sewed one side the wrong way round and ended up with this!

However, while I can’t use it for this block I can see a couple of ways in which this shape could be useful.

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Spatially challenged

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    You are so funny. I am a substitute teacher and one day I was subbing for the special ed teacher and while the kids were working on various projects, I was making a poster to be used in the library. I had just made a big 3 and was looking at it to see if I liked it. The kids came over and pointed out I had made it backwards. Then they looked at me questioningly as to how I could be a teacher and an adult and not know which way a three goes. I told them when I was a kid I thought if I could just grow up, all those problems would go away but I found out that adults just get better at hiding those faults so find your strengths and use them to overcome your weaknesses and learn to laugh at the rest. Everyone has failings but some are better hiding them than others.

  • Pat in Washington says:

    Oh, good. I’m so glad it’s not only me that gets distracted and sews things together wrong sides together or upside down or goofy in some way. I usually blame my cat, Tigger.

  • Doris says:

    Glad I’m not the only one! I can really concentrate but get whatever together wrong. Then really, really concentrate & do it wrong again. And not infrequently again. Particularly when I’m working in 3 dimensions like sewing garments but occasionally when I’m piecing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spatially challenged at Sewjournal.

meta

