Border possibility

April 30, 2011 § 10 Comments

I’ve almost finished the Kimono Quilt and I was auditioning this fabric as a border. What do you think? I’m not sure it really works.

 

It also comes in red so I might take the top to the store and see if that works. Or perhaps just plain black?

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Border possibility

  • Amy says:

    I was thinking a thin resting strip in red might make it all pop a bit more. But I DO like the one you chose!

  • Love the quilt! Usually I like a border with lots of action, but with these lovely Asian prints, I think the outer border needs to be more sedate. Please do not yawn, but I am thinking plain black solid, or a very slightly textured black print. Just MHO.

  • Linda says:

    I think I am favoring a solid over a print, also. I think the print would detract from the lovely kimonos, and your sashing fabric. The solid black would be nice, but what about a solid red? In my mind, I always think of red when I think of Asian colors.

    Whatever you pick will be lovely, as usual.

    xo Linda

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    I’m with Amy above…. a thin border then this border fabric. I do like this fabric with it. 🙂 that’s why we are all so different.

  • Stacey says:

    The fabric is fun, but it detracts from the rest of the quilt imho. I would suggest a black with a dark grey subtle ‘texture’ or geometric print or a solid charcoal grey. I’m sure you’ll find something that works perfectly – it’s usually an unplanned serendipity : ).

  • Nan says:

    That is wonderful fabric you picked out, but it seems too busy right next to the black & white writing. I vote to go with either the plain red or black. Think you will have to hold the quilt to each one and see which one makes it POP!!!

  • ChĂ©rie Hoyle says:

    Hi

    I think a plain black border the same width as your sashing and then the gorgeous new fabric as above, slightly wider, maybe one and a half the width of the first border, then back to plain binding.

    It’s a lovely dynamic quilt, have enjoyed the process you’ve gone through.

    Byee

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I like this but it needs a thin strip in between. I also liked that red Kanji print that you pulled out for the corner stones.

  • Doris says:

    I like the idea of a thin border between the wide border & the blocks but it’s hard to say. Is it possible to get a more backed off photo?

  • Dot says:

    I always like to wait until I finish my tops before buying the border fabric and then take it with me to the shop to audition lots of options. Like others, I think the fabric you’ve chosen would work better with some textured plains on either side of it. And I’d be interested in how the quilt would look with some of the interesting textured plains available in some Oriental fabric ranges at the moment

Leave a Reply

Border possibility

April 30, 2011 § 10 Comments

I’ve almost finished the Kimono Quilt and I was auditioning this fabric as a border. What do you think? I’m not sure it really works.

 

It also comes in red so I might take the top to the store and see if that works. Or perhaps just plain black?

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Border possibility

  • Amy says:

    I was thinking a thin resting strip in red might make it all pop a bit more. But I DO like the one you chose!

  • Love the quilt! Usually I like a border with lots of action, but with these lovely Asian prints, I think the outer border needs to be more sedate. Please do not yawn, but I am thinking plain black solid, or a very slightly textured black print. Just MHO.

  • Linda says:

    I think I am favoring a solid over a print, also. I think the print would detract from the lovely kimonos, and your sashing fabric. The solid black would be nice, but what about a solid red? In my mind, I always think of red when I think of Asian colors.

    Whatever you pick will be lovely, as usual.

    xo Linda

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    I’m with Amy above…. a thin border then this border fabric. I do like this fabric with it. 🙂 that’s why we are all so different.

  • Stacey says:

    The fabric is fun, but it detracts from the rest of the quilt imho. I would suggest a black with a dark grey subtle ‘texture’ or geometric print or a solid charcoal grey. I’m sure you’ll find something that works perfectly – it’s usually an unplanned serendipity : ).

  • Nan says:

    That is wonderful fabric you picked out, but it seems too busy right next to the black & white writing. I vote to go with either the plain red or black. Think you will have to hold the quilt to each one and see which one makes it POP!!!

  • ChĂ©rie Hoyle says:

    Hi

    I think a plain black border the same width as your sashing and then the gorgeous new fabric as above, slightly wider, maybe one and a half the width of the first border, then back to plain binding.

    It’s a lovely dynamic quilt, have enjoyed the process you’ve gone through.

    Byee

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    I like this but it needs a thin strip in between. I also liked that red Kanji print that you pulled out for the corner stones.

  • Doris says:

    I like the idea of a thin border between the wide border & the blocks but it’s hard to say. Is it possible to get a more backed off photo?

  • Dot says:

    I always like to wait until I finish my tops before buying the border fabric and then take it with me to the shop to audition lots of options. Like others, I think the fabric you’ve chosen would work better with some textured plains on either side of it. And I’d be interested in how the quilt would look with some of the interesting textured plains available in some Oriental fabric ranges at the moment

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Border possibility at Sewjournal.

meta

