Owning up to WIPs or PHDs

April 22, 2011 § 5 Comments

I decided to list my Works In Progress (WIPs) or Projects Half Done (PHDs). I don’t do UFOs. At least that’s what I tell myself. So what does my list look like? Well it’s not too bad…

  1. Quilting the Appliqué  Sampler Quilt – (75% finished)
  2. Appliquéing the Tree of Life Cushion – (75% finished – just the leaves to add)
  3. The lost appliqué – (it’s been found and has been basted but that’s all, so say 10% finished)
  4. Klosjes – (can’t say how finished this is becasue I don’t know what I’m going to make with it and how long I will go on with it.)
  5. The Splash of Colour Quilt top – (this has stalled and I may make pillows from the blocks instead so 30% finished.)

I think that’s it. I do have some Southern Gentleman Quilt Blocks that I have done but I’ve never really committed to making the full quilt and I have some other experimental blocks that I have tried from time to time but I don’t really classify any of those as WIPS, PHDs or UFOs.

What about you? How long is your list?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Owning up to WIPs or PHDs

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    As long as I don’t have to count the stuff in my head, I’m doing fine. Wedding quilt, almost done and batik quilt waiting in the wings for a border. Of course there is the un-started birthday present for a daughter but that will be a series of table runners so take-along work that always goes much faster than big bed covers. Maybe I should make pillow covers?

  • Amy says:

    My list is scary!!! Cowgirl quilt-due may 1st. Blue/white wedding quilt-due june 25th. A “banner” wth my logo, a block of the month that needs quilting. Baby quilt for gabby’s teacher, 2 patchwork boy quilts. A hexagon project. And a MILLION ideas!!

  • Dot says:

    Only 5? Not to worry! I think I was 29 last count and I’ve added to it since then (although I’ve also completed a couple)…. and I’m still on the computer!

  • Sharon Scott says:

    Last count about 25. Maybe more. But if you count unquilted tops, then it is probably double that. Once I get the top finished, and in line to be quilted I count it done. 🙂 But I have been on a mission the last three years to finish 1 a month. Completely. So far so good, except I keep starting new ones. Cant quiet the muse in my head, so I just go with it! 🙂

  • Doris says:

    I have 4 WIPs & no UFOs but then I’ve learned my UFO lesson years ago & I know how to prevent them.

    I liked your percentages. In my engineering life we has a saying that a project makes good progress until it’s 95% done. It then remains 95% forever.

Leave a Reply

Owning up to WIPs or PHDs

April 22, 2011 § 5 Comments

I decided to list my Works In Progress (WIPs) or Projects Half Done (PHDs). I don’t do UFOs. At least that’s what I tell myself. So what does my list look like? Well it’s not too bad…

  1. Quilting the Appliqué  Sampler Quilt – (75% finished)
  2. Appliquéing the Tree of Life Cushion – (75% finished – just the leaves to add)
  3. The lost appliqué – (it’s been found and has been basted but that’s all, so say 10% finished)
  4. Klosjes – (can’t say how finished this is becasue I don’t know what I’m going to make with it and how long I will go on with it.)
  5. The Splash of Colour Quilt top – (this has stalled and I may make pillows from the blocks instead so 30% finished.)

I think that’s it. I do have some Southern Gentleman Quilt Blocks that I have done but I’ve never really committed to making the full quilt and I have some other experimental blocks that I have tried from time to time but I don’t really classify any of those as WIPS, PHDs or UFOs.

What about you? How long is your list?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Owning up to WIPs or PHDs

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    As long as I don’t have to count the stuff in my head, I’m doing fine. Wedding quilt, almost done and batik quilt waiting in the wings for a border. Of course there is the un-started birthday present for a daughter but that will be a series of table runners so take-along work that always goes much faster than big bed covers. Maybe I should make pillow covers?

  • Amy says:

    My list is scary!!! Cowgirl quilt-due may 1st. Blue/white wedding quilt-due june 25th. A “banner” wth my logo, a block of the month that needs quilting. Baby quilt for gabby’s teacher, 2 patchwork boy quilts. A hexagon project. And a MILLION ideas!!

  • Dot says:

    Only 5? Not to worry! I think I was 29 last count and I’ve added to it since then (although I’ve also completed a couple)…. and I’m still on the computer!

  • Sharon Scott says:

    Last count about 25. Maybe more. But if you count unquilted tops, then it is probably double that. Once I get the top finished, and in line to be quilted I count it done. 🙂 But I have been on a mission the last three years to finish 1 a month. Completely. So far so good, except I keep starting new ones. Cant quiet the muse in my head, so I just go with it! 🙂

  • Doris says:

    I have 4 WIPs & no UFOs but then I’ve learned my UFO lesson years ago & I know how to prevent them.

    I liked your percentages. In my engineering life we has a saying that a project makes good progress until it’s 95% done. It then remains 95% forever.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Owning up to WIPs or PHDs at Sewjournal.

meta

