The Kimono Quilt

April 21, 2011 § 17 Comments

Yesterday a friend rang me up and asked if I wanted to visit a Patchwork shop I hadn’t been to before. She said it would be an “experience”. She wasn’t wrong. The “shop” was in a shed in the backyard of a home and it had heaps and heaps of fabric and was really well laid out. The only problem was that the whole place, and all the fabric, reeked of cigarette smoke. YUK!

Despite this I did actually buy some fabric which I thought would make great sashing for the kimono blocks.

I laid the blocks out on the fabric and took some photos to get an idea. What do you think?

§ 17 Responses to The Kimono Quilt

  • sue in roseville says:

    that fabric is perfect — shame about the cigarette smell, though. I think that there are a lot of smokers who just don’t realize anymore how much the smell lingers on things.

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Love it!

  • Amy says:

    that fabric is PERFECT!!

  • Linda says:

    I think you have a winner there, Munaiba!

  • Julie Fukuda says:

    This fabric sets off each block well. The writing is not Japanese but stylized Chinese but that is fine because the kimono, many with lower borders, look like maybe Okinawan or Korean influence. The whole has a nice Asian flavor. I’d say go with it! (I hope you washed it before laying out the blocks.)

  • Lindi Jarman says:

    You didn’t mention the cat hair…
    I was taken there for the first time, on my home from Kiama. My instructions were: fill your lungs before you reach the shed, breathe deeply afterwards to clear the lungs, tie all purchases tightly in their plastic bags, put them in the boot, when getting home, take bags straight to laundry and put in washing machine!
    I spent quite a bit there. Amazing deals on some things. I bought metres of backing fabrics and enough flannel samples to make an entire quilt, as well as other stuff. 🙂

  • Nancy says:

    I think they look perfect on that fabric. I hope that the cigarette smell disappears for you.

  • jan Weisser says:

    Wow I’m impressed. Love the look and yep I think the cigarette smoke will wash out, sure hope so. Cat hair comes off too, ask me how I know that.

  • jan Weisser says:

    Wow I’m impressed. Love the look and yep I think the cigarette smoke will wash out, sure hope so. Cat hair comes off too, ask me how I know that.

  • Sue says:

    Sew where is this shop it sounds fascinating and given I live not far from you would love to take a visit.

  • Sue says:

    Sew where is this shop it sounds fascinating and given I live not far from you would love to take a visit.

  • Sue says:

    Oh and BTW the fabric looks great

  • Sue says:

    Oh and BTW the fabric looks great

  • Julie says:

    Yes the smell does wash out (ask me how I know that).. that fabric looks perfect! Great Find! Sounds like an adventure!

  • Julie says:

    Yes the smell does wash out (ask me how I know that).. that fabric looks perfect! Great Find! Sounds like an adventure!

  • Doris says:

    Perfect fabric! I guess you’ll be prewashing that! I can’t imagine someone selling fabric & smoking in their shop.

  • Doris says:

    Perfect fabric! I guess you’ll be prewashing that! I can’t imagine someone selling fabric & smoking in their shop.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Kimono Quilt at Sewjournal.

meta

