Retreat Sewing

April 1, 2011 § 9 Comments

While I was away I tried out some new blocks. One was a whirlygig block that looked lovely but turned out to be a nightmare to sew. You can see half a block in the photo below. The turquoise arcs were easy to sew but the purple ones were too big to fit the grey arc and nearly drove me crazy. Hence the reason I haven’t yet finished the block.

The second new (for me) block was one from the Pies and Tarts quilt. I had issues with this one too. It is English Paper Pieced and comes with two sizes of “wedge” paper pieces and two wedge acrylic templates. Originally I thought the templates were to allow you to cut more papers should you need them but they are not the correct sizes for that. So then I decided they must be to cut the fabric to allow the seam allowance. So I used the smaller acrylic template to cut the fabric to use on the smaller paper pieces. The fabric was way too big and I ended up having to cut off at least 1/4” off the top of the wedge which spoiled the pattern I had fussy cut. {sigh}

And last but not least I did some more of my appliqué. Just the leaves to go on now.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Retreat Sewing

  • Linda says:

    Well, they might have been a pain to make, but they look lovely. I really like that half block, and your applique is fantastic! I haven’t done applique in over 30 years. I’m not drawn to do it, but I love the way it looks. I’m glad you liked your little vacation. It sounds like you had a very good time.

    xo Linda

  • sylvia says:

    I’m not sure why you thought your half block looks bad. It looks quite good to me. And why would one color fabric be larger than the other if you used the same template?

    As to templates… if they’re not for cutting out fabric, what are they for?? I’m cornfused? lol

  • sylvia says:

    Oh, and love the applique. It’s amazing!

  • Doris says:

    Hi Munaiba,
    Maybe you’re having a printing issue? I printed the McCall’s templates & they fit together perfectly. The other thing I noticed is that the arc on “C” is on the bias while the B arc is on grain. That’s going to make a big difference in the sewing. I can’t help thinking “Pies & Tarts” must be in the air or maybe great minds think alike. Your experience with P&T reinforces my commitment to always draft my own blocks.

    • sewjournal says:

      Hi Doris
      The templates look fine but when it comes to the sewing there is a huge difference and I don’t understand why. Give one a try just and see if you have the same problem.
      Cheers
      Munaiba

  • Peggy S says:

    Hi Manaiba
    The Pies & Tarts quilt is such a beautiful quilt, it’s too bad it’s so hard to put together. Linda Franz’s Inklingo has a Pies and Tarts pattern that you print the shapes using your computer and has cutting lines and stitching lines. They are also placed on fabric paying attention to straight of grain. If you go to Inklingo.com you will see the pattern and pictures of the quilt. No affiliation but love to quilt Inklingo.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Retreat Sewing at Sewjournal.

meta

