My Second Spiral Scarf is Finished

March 16, 2011 § 9 Comments

I’ve finished my second spiral scarf. I’ve taken pictures of both of them so that you can see the differences in the colours. The first has more purples and lavenders and the second more pinks and corals.

While I’m pleased with the finished results I’m not a happy camper with regards to the yarn. The last ball of the Noro Silk Garden Lite had a couple of problems. The first was that it had a weak spot at the beginning and a 50cm piece broke off and the second was this.

This is an expensive designer yarn and personally I don’t think knots in it are acceptable. Noro, however, begs to differ. They told me that:
“Whilst technically one knot per ball is deemed to be acceptable throughout the industry, we certainly would be disappointed if this were the case with our yarns.

We do appreciate your having brought this to our attention as it enables us to take this up with the spinner in a positive manner.”

They didn’t address the issue of breakage and I had to write back to remind them this wasn’t the only problem I had encountered. Their reply:
“We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with this yarn. If you would like a refund you will need to take it back to the shop where the yarn was purchased, but unfortunately this yarn is now discontinued and we do not have stock. Sorry for any inconvenience.”

Am I being  picky to think that they are not viewing this from my point of view at all? Isn’t it obvious that if I found the knot in the middle of the ball I have already invested substantial time and effort KNITTING IT UP? Am I expected to undo it, rewind it and take it back to a shop that may not have any more. A refund isn’t going to help because this project requires more than one ball so how would I finish it then?

Maybe I’m being unfair to them? What do you think? After all they did apologise, but somehow it felt like a very perfunctory apology. So what sort of reply did I expect. I guess one that acknowledged my issues. Something along the lines of:

“We’re sorry your knitting project, and your enjoyment of our yarn, has been marred by what appears to be one substandard ball. Our quality control is very strict and we’re surprised that this got through.  Please accept our apolgies and this voucher for $10 off your next purchase.”

 Oh well, I can dream. Will I be buying Noro yarns again? Lovely as they are, probably not.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to My Second Spiral Scarf is Finished

  • marla says:

    I was very interested to read your blog this morning.
    I HAD THE VERY SAME PROBLEM LAST NIGHT.
    The first scarf I knitted was perfect.
    the second I had knots…yes 2 knotts in the second ball I used.
    I do not have time this morning to follow up but will do asap.
    I have ordered 2 balls for my friend as she loved the first scarf that I made…now I feel embarrassed to tell her about the knotts.
    As you mentioned it was expensive yarn and should not have ANY problems..oh dear ..
    Puts it all into perspective when you think about Japan I think..
    cheers
    Marla

  • sue in roseville says:

    unfortunately, the quality issues with Noro are pretty widespread. I haven’t had a ball that *didn’t* have at least 1 knot in it, and more often than not there’s a lot of “trash” (bits of straw, etc) stuck in it that wasn’t cleaned out in the carding process. Overpriced and over-rated.

    But your scarves are lovely.

  • Linda says:

    Hi Munaiba,
    I agree with you wholeheartedly! It was a hollow apology. If I had gotten your apology, I wouldn’t have been angry at all. Next time I’m upset about something, will you write up an appropriate apology for me? Then, I will be less angry when I have to approach the offender….8-) (I’ll be writing you almost daily from work….lol)
    xo Linda

  • Doris says:

    I haven’t purchased any Noro yarn for years because of quality issues. I think one knot in a ball is acceptable. Long time knitters always wind the yarn first in order to find any knots before starting to knit. This also gives you the opportunity to return a sub-standard ball/skein. (Think of it as pre-washing your fabric. )

    A hint when complaining–always state the problem AND what the vendor can do to make you happy. I would have told Noro that I expect to receive a discount on the yarn or a free ball or whatever. I’m not defending Noro but it’s helpful to know what will make a particular customer happy. My complaint would have, probably, gone something like this:

    Dear Noro,
    I’ve loved & knitted with your yarns for years. So imagine my chagrin when knitting with “yarn name” I discovered not only a knot but a poorly spun section that caused the yarn to break. Alas, I was in the midst of my project so returning the yarn is not an option. I’m sure you’ll agree with me that this yarn was not up to your standards nor worth the full retail price of $30. I believe my purchase should be discounted 25%.

    TIA

    It’s game playing but this technique has NEVER failed me. If after given a chance to make it right, Noro didn’t. I would complain to the LYS. The shop will then make their purchases based on customer feedback & on up the chain.

    • sewjournal says:

      Thanks for the complaint idea Doris. You know I am a long time knitter but I never ever thought of winding the yarn first. I know we used to do that with my mother but that was because she used to buy the yarn in hanks and we had to roll it into balls.

  • Tamara says:

    Thank you for your kind words on our handmade buttons (give-away on Michele’s Quilting Gallery).
    They are in fact available for sale in Australia!
    We have a wonderful agent, Russell Boyd who you can contact if you are interested on rboyd@allgifts.com.au

    Thanks again!
    Tamara

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Second Spiral Scarf is Finished at Sewjournal.

meta

