An Autumn Saturday – part 1

March 6, 2011 § 4 Comments

This weekend is the first weekend for three months that my husband has had both Saturday and Sunday off. We decided to head off early to Cobbity Markets. It was definitely an Autumn day. A slight breeze and a little chill in the air, so I decided to wear my new twirly whirly scarf. I have to say it caused a bit of a stir at the markets. Two ladies asked me if I made it myself and how to make it and my husband said he heard other people talking about it too. What a hit!
The markets were bustling and vibrant and that lovely country atmosphere was enhanced by the sound of the bell birds all round.

My favourite food stall that sells artichokes, dolmades and chilli olives wasn’t there unfortunately, but I found a stall I hadn’t seen before. It’s called Tijuana Alpacas Wool Shop and is a hand knitting and yarn stall. Look at these lovely yarns.

The stall holder – Sharon Gander – told me that they also have a website as well as selling their yarns on eBay. And they have a shop Smeaton Grange (near Narellan).

Guess what?

They were selling Noro Silk Garden Lite (the yarn I used for my scarf) for only $13.95 per ball! I paid $17.95 for mine.
Naturally I had to buy another couple of balls in a different colourway. I also have my eye on this lovely yarn from their eBay shop. Isn’t it gorgeous? Almost makes me want to knit a whole sweater.

But that’s not all…

The last few times I have  visited the markets my favourite jewellery stall has been missing but this time it was there.I bought this lovely rose purse which has a chain handle. It also has a longer chain inside if you want to make it a shoulder purse. I thought it would be ideal as a sewing purse. It will easily (and beautifully) fit a pair of scissors, some needles, pins, a thimble and some bobbins of thread.

I also bought this stunning silver necklace. What do you think?

After a eating a lovely crispy fetta, spinach and egg gozleme we headed home. But that wasn’t the end of our Saturday jaunt. Tell you more tomorrow…

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to An Autumn Saturday – part 1

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Ohhh I love all of your finds! I want to go shopping with you!!

  • Linda says:

    Hi Munaiba,

    How wonderful that you have 2 whole days with your hubby! Lucky girl. The scarf is lovely! You did a really good job on it. I’m not surprised that it made a stir at the Markets…8-), and it looked like a fun place. Your purchases are neat. I’ve never knit with silk, but I would like to try it one day. I really love that necklace. Okay, I have a question! What is a gozleme? Fetta (we spell it Feta), Spinach and Egg I get, but not what they were all put into….lol.

    I found some of that lovely Japanese wreath pattern fabric that you have, only with a darkish red background. It was expensive, but I couldn’t help myself. That red combined with the lovely pattern just made it irrestible…..I was weak…

    I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s continuation of your adventures!

    xo Linda

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Autumn Saturday – part 1 at Sewjournal.

meta

