Just playing around

February 15, 2011 § 3 Comments

Do you remember my Splash of Colour quilt blocks that I was making with this gorgeous fabric? Well I was wondering how it would look around the Appliqué Sampler if I removed the border I put on it. So I had a play around.

I’m still not sure. It’s a bit hard to see but I don’t think it works. I think it’s too airy to be a border. Mr Tiggy, who you can see presiding over the proceedings, in the top right isn’t convinced either.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Just playing around

  • Pamela says:

    The stripes and dark borders seem to heavy to go with the rest of the quilt. I love the rest of it. Maybe that is why you are not sure about it. It needs balance, other than that it is beautiful!!! Much better than I can do any ole day…

  • Helen Vivian says:

    It could work, but you would have to put a border between the applique quilt and the bright border. This additional colour would have to be a darker colour like dark green or simiilar. Just place a few dark colours representing say a 2 inch border between, and you will see what I mean. Regards, Helen V

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    I agree, take the current border off the appliqué sampler, use a brighter and narrower border between it and the new border and the same as a final outer border and I think you’d have a fabulous quilt.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just playing around at Sewjournal.

meta

