Looking for suggestions…

February 12, 2011 § 12 Comments

A while back I made the Piece O’Cake Appliqué Sampler. If you follow that link you’ll see their version of the quilt.

I didn’t know what to do with mine when I’d finished it. It was too small to be useful and it certainly wasn’t something that I wanted to hang on my wall.

I thought about it long and hard and decided to add a border. I considered adding an appliquéd border but I didn’t like it that much that I wanted to spend heaps of time adding to it.  So this is what I did.

Now I’m trying to clean up the few UFOs that I have but I really don’t know what to do with this. It’s not big enough for a quilt and it’s too fancy for a baby’s floor quilt. Should I go to all that trouble to quilt it only to have it in a cupboard? Any ideas? I suppose it could be a lap quilt or perhaps I could quilt it and sell it. Any suggestions?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Looking for suggestions…

  • Nan says:

    If you have a dog or a cat, this would be a great pet blanket. If not maybe one of your good friends with pets would like it. It would look great on the sofa or a chair and the pets would have something all their own. Please don’t anybody scream at me cause my kitties sleep on my quilts all the time. After all they are family. Just a suggestion.

    • sewjournal says:

      Much as I’m not fond of it I don’t think I’d be comfortable with Mr Tiggy sleeping on a hand appliquéd and hand pieced quilt somehow. But thanks for the suggestion.

  • Linda says:

    Hi Munaiba,

    I vote for quilting and selling it! I bet there is someone out there who would really love it.

    xoxo Linda

  • Elizabeth says:

    Oh, I am a fan of Piece of Cake…I love my dogs and cat, but would not consider this a pet quilt…and I do have some pet quilts : ) This will be a wonderful wall hanging and I would sell it with that in mind. You did an awesome job.

  • Dot says:

    Looks like you’ve liberted those lovely blocks! Exactly how big is it? It is such a fresh clean colourful look I can see some little girl loving it, either to hang on her wall or over the end of her bed, or just to snuggle under to watch telly, if it’s big enough for that!

  • Crispy says:

    If you don’t have any use for it, donate it or sell it or give it to someone you know. Once I make a quilt I usually loose interest in it and don’t really care how it’s treated . I make them to satisfy my need to make quilts, there’s always room for more LOL.

    Crispy

  • Doris says:

    If you don’t like, dump it! Give it to charity or a rummage sale. Life’s too short to sew on something you don’t absolutely love.

  • MarciaW says:

    Trade it with a friend – your ufo for theirs – don’t quilt something you do not like – at least work on one that is new to you – or just give it to them. If you want the money, finish and sell it.

  • Carol says:

    Some projects provide us opportunity to learn or try new skills and techniques though the end product might not appeal ( or lost its appeal depending upon frustrations encountered). Beautifully done!
    To find a home for it- go ahead and quilt it up. Stash for a designated time and consider what you want to do to find it a home.
    I have done a couple of “learning” quilts, then donated them to be raffled off for the benefit of charity/organizations that I know will appreciate the funds. Some lucky person will be ecstatic to be the winner!

  • amelie peckter says:

    i would take it apart and use the good blocks in another setting with different fabrics that are more to your liking. you put a lot of hard work into it and it would be a shame to lose that!

    • Pam says:

      I agree. The blocks are very pretty and if you took it apart and put it into a quilt of your own, it would be quite lovely. If that doesn’t appeal to you, if you would sell it without being quilted, someone else could take it apart or not as they prefer,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Looking for suggestions… at Sewjournal.

meta

