Quilting is Finished on the Liberated Baby Quilt

February 1, 2011 § 7 Comments

Yesterday, despite the oppressive heat – nearly 40deg C – and high humidity I finished quilting the Liberated Baby Quilt. Here are some photos. Please bear in mind that it’s very creased after being squeezed through my Janome’s small opening but I really couldn’t face pressing it just to take photos in that heat!

Now I just have to decide on a binding. I always find that the most difficult because it can have such a great effect on the final result yet you only see such a little bit of it.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Quilting is Finished on the Liberated Baby Quilt

  • coral tobler says:

    I really like your liberated baby quilt. Looks so bright and cheerful. The recipient surely will love it.

    Coral [on the Gold Coast]

  • Nola says:

    Looks great, Muniaba, I’m sure the recipient will love it! It reminds me of one I made for a co-worker’s first baby back in the nineties – very similar colouring, though mine was a log cabin block, with the print as a larger-than-usual square in the centre. It looks so fresh with the bright colours!

  • June says:

    Any baby who sleeps or cuddles with this bright quilt would have to become happy and content. What fun colors to wake up to – and drag along – and sleep with.

    Thank you for sharing!

  • Barb says:

    Yoohoo! Well done, quite the achievement under those conditions. The quilt looks so sweat so job well done. The new baby will love it. BTW, all my babies were born between Dec and Feb in the Melbourne heat…. it’s because the winters are so cold.
    My vote is for a red binding.

  • Shasta says:

    It looks very nice. I like to have my bindings dark, especially on a baby quilt since it will probably get the dirtiest – so choose one of the darker colors. If your red doesn’t run (hate for the baby to be sucking up red dye), you can use that, but I think the orange or purple would also look good. For me, it usually just depends on which leftover or replacement piece is big enough for a binding.

  • Anne says:

    Looks lovely and bright. This quilt yells “red and white spot binding” to me!

  • Linda says:

    It is a beautiful quilt, Munaiba. I wouldn’t even attempt to give you advice on the binding. I’ve seen some quilts bound in fabrics that I never would have given a second glance, and they look fabulous! I think your good color/pattern sense will guide you to the right fabric. I’m sorry it’s so miserably hot where you are. I’m sitting here worrying about my sister and daughter who live in Oklahoma and Missouri, respectively, and the Blizzard/ice storm that is heading their way, and you are suffering in a heat wave. I think I’d rather have the cold. You can only take so much off!
    xoxo Linda

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quilting is Finished on the Liberated Baby Quilt at Sewjournal.

meta

