What's in a scrap bag?

January 29, 2011 § 5 Comments

Recently I saw some scrap bags for sale at Hawthorne Threads. At the time they only had two sorts – a warm and a cool. Now they have added “fresh” to the range. For only $11 you get 2yds of fabric. Here’s what I got in my warm scrap bag.

And here’s the cool one.

Given that the postage to Australia is $13.95 for a flat rate envelope I decided to buy some other fabrics. These four were on sale.

And this was a Denyse Schmidt Hope Valley Fat Quarter Bundle in New Day. I have to say I was suprised at the colours when they arrived. They looked decidedly greener on the website picture – don’t you think?  I guess it must have been taken from a print brochure. Anyway they are lovely fabrics all the same and the service was great. I ordered them on the 19th January and received them on the 27th. (No affiliations by the way, just a happy customer.).

A total of 8 yards of fabric for less than $70 including postage. (The envelope did burst but good old Australia Post wrapped it in a plastic envelope and sealed it.) Now I have my eye on the “fresh scrap bag” but what shall I fill the envelope with? Well, I do like the Laura Gunn  Magnolia Lane fabrics.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to What's in a scrap bag?

  • Cathy A. says:

    Okay…now I know who bought the last Hope Valley Fat quarter bundle in that colorway! I thought about it one night, and couldn’t decide. Came back the next day, and they were sold out! So you saved me from spending money I don’t have! Thank you!!

    I love the new Laura Gunn fabrics, too! Enjoy your fabric!!

  • Garilyn says:

    Love the Magnolia Lane fabric!! Especially the blooming tulips!

  • Joan says:

    Hmm, that is what bothers me re buying online. Those fabrics look decidedly dull compared to the original pic. I ordered threads once, and they were nothing like the pic I chose from. But I guess that doesn’t always happen. Happy sewing with them. Love your work.

  • starjumper says:

    i’m not sure what it is… the last 3 packages that i’ve received from hawthorne threads have been split open and resealed by canada post… i would tend to blame canada post, but i guess they would never have touched your packages. otherwise, hawthorne threads is one of my favorite online fabric shops!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What's in a scrap bag? at Sewjournal.

meta

