A Plethora of Paper-Pieced Pincushions

January 23, 2011 § 3 Comments

You may remember these:

More ugly hexiesI was using paper-pieced diamonds to make hexagons which I was going to make into a tumbling blocks quilt. However the colours just didn’t do it for me so I abandoned it. Then one day I had a bright idea and made a couple of pincushions from the hexagons. One I use and the other I had as a give-away prize on the blog.

Well, the other day I wanted to use paper-pieced diamonds to make a prayer quilt but when I counted them out I only had 26. The other 24 were in  the unused hexagons. So in the interest of recycling combined with cutting down the UFO list (although mine is really teeny 🙂 more WIPs than UFOs really ) I decided to make pincushions from the rest of them and liberate the paper diamonds at the same time. So here they are:

I’m putting them up for sale and and you can see full pictures and details of them here. They’re completely hand-stitched.

By popular request… Mr Tiggy!

I’ve been asked a few times how Mr Tiggy is and if I could show some more pictures of him. Here is, last night, relaxing as only he knows how. See how curly he is underneath?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to A Plethora of Paper-Pieced Pincushions

  • Linda says:

    Hi Munaiba,

    I see what you mean about those colors as Tumbling Blocks. They’re much better as pincushions.

    Ah, if only we all could relax like Mr. Tiggy! He is a cutie. Give him a scratch for me!

    xoxo Linda

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    The first thing I ever made using patchwork was a pincushion made of paper pieced diamonds – back in 1977! Started a quilt with paper pieced hexagons then too, I still have it, unfinished of course!

  • Pamela says:

    Lovely pincushions! Your cat looks as relaxed as our Baby Boy cat does (and yes that is his name). They would get along well I am sure…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Plethora of Paper-Pieced Pincushions at Sewjournal.

meta

