Sugarless cinnamon cake – free recipe

January 8, 2011 § 7 Comments

My husband says this is the best cake I’ve ever made so I thought you might like to try it. It’s really easy. It’s also guilt-free because there’s no fat and no sugar!

Ingredients

1 cup self-raising flour

1 cup shredded coconut

3/4 cup Splenda (sugar substitute)

3/4 cup sultanas (I think they’re called seedless raisins in the USA)

1 cup milk

1 heaped teaspoon ground cinnamon

Method

Place all dry ingredients in a bowl, add the milk and stir gently until everything is combined. Pour the mixture into a greased silicone loaf tin and cook in the middle of the oven at 180 deg C or 360 deg F for 35 minutes. Turn out onto a wire rack and leave to cool. Slice and enjoy with your favourite cuppa.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Sugarless cinnamon cake – free recipe

  • sylvia says:

    mmmm sounds yummy! Might have to try that one Munaiba!

  • Garilyn says:

    This does sound good. I will have to let me mother-in-law know about this. She is diabetic.

  • Janet says:

    Wow, that’s super simple and I love anything with coconut in it. I’ll have to try it since it comes highly recommended.

    • sewjournal says:

      I hope you all enjoy it. Please let me know how you go with it.

      • Janice says:

        Yum! I love cinnamon and I have to forgo sugar for medical reasons, so I will definitely try this cake. Thanks for posting the recipe.

  • Shaaryn says:

    Have been doing a lot of reading about sugar(s). And all sugars aren’t the same…the best one being glucose. Common sugar that we all have in our kitchens is actually half a glucose and half a fructose…the glucose is good, the fructose, not good. And I’ll bet that you all thought that fructose, coming from fruit, would be good for you, but apparently we aren’t yet evolved/adapted enough to deal with fructose. One or two pieces of fruit a day is ok, as the fructose is offset by the amount of fibre in the fruit. Everything else becomes converted to a type of fat that is laid down in the liver only… Sorry about the lecture, but any recipe that is sugar free is good in my opinion, but be aware of the hidden sugars too, such as the dried fruit (fructose), and make sure that you count them into your sugar count for the day. And Munaiba, I think I’ll be making this for our SEQ SCQIS meeting tomorrow, but probably with a bit less of the fruit and a bit more of the cinnamon! I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

    • sewjournal says:

      Hi Shaaryn
      Glad you like the recipe. I have actually read David Gillespie’s book. But the one thing to remember is that fructose in fruit is mitigated by the fibre it contains. Fruit juice is a problem because it contains fructose but no fibre. Enjoy!
      Cheers
      Munaiba

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sugarless cinnamon cake – free recipe at Sewjournal.

meta

