Progress…

December 24, 2010 § 8 Comments

After failure a little progress.Well I decided to try this star hand-pieced. As most of you know, hand-piecing is my favourite method of piecing. I’m still not a good machinist. However, I decided to use freezer paper templates as I always have trouble cutting the plastic exactly right. Here’s the star so far.

It’s definitely not perfect. I don’t think I’ll use the freezer paper method again.

Anyway I’ll persist and see how it turns out. May have to go to plan C. lol

Here’s a teaser

In the next few days I’ll be interviewing a quilter who has come up with a very interesting way of making quilts on point. I “met” her on the quilt designers’ email group and asked her if I could interview her about her technique and her new book. She agreed and sent  me a copy of the book to review. On the day the book review appears I will randomly pick someone from my email subscription list and they will win this signed review copy. So keep reading…

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Progress…

  • Shelley C says:

    Will be keeping my eyes open for that one!

  • Linda says:

    The quilt block looks great so far! I knew you could do it….8-). I, also, will be keeping my eyes open for the review and giveaway of that new book!

    xo Linda

  • Janet says:

    It looks fascinating, I’ll watch out for the progress report.

  • Judy says:

    I can’t tell if the triangles are “Standard Sizes” (multiples of 1/4 inch), but, if so, you might give Inklingo a try. I have the second set (out of print, I think), but Linda Franz has 12 sizes of HST’s from 1/2 inch to 3″ that print on the fabric and 12 sizes of QST’s from 1/2 ” to 3″ in separate collections. Check it out at:
    http://www.inklingo.com

  • sylvia says:

    I’m curious why you won’t use the fp method for piecing again…

    Also, if I”m not mistaken, there’s a wonderful tutorial for doing set in squares by machine in your Rotary Magic book. Page 74 in fact.

    Keep up the good work!

  • Pamela says:

    I am just learning hand piecing. Along with the others I will be looking forward to the review.

  • Joan says:

    Looking forward to more on this subject. It’s nice that someone will put up their efforts that aren’t always perfect, as well as the ones that are. Thank you for sharing. It helps our self esteem by knowing others are still trying to get there.

  • Crispy says:

    I love this block. Do you leave the freezer paper on when you are sewing?

    Crispy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Progress… at Sewjournal.

meta

