2011 – the year of honeysuckle pink???

December 14, 2010 § 10 Comments

Looking for the Sew Mama Sew Give Away Day post?

I’m joining with hundreds of other blogs and participating in the Sew Mama Sew Give-Away Day. My give-away is a totally hand-sewn pin cushion. If you’d like to enter please click here. Good luck!

I don’t know what’s more sickly, this colour or the garbage written about it

According to Pantone the colour for 2011 will be Honeysuckle Pink! If you visit the link you’ll see all sorts of marketing jargon and treacly prose about this colour. According to their press release “Energizing Honeysuckle Lifts Spirits and Imparts Confidence to Meet Life’s Ongoing Challenges”. Really?

The press release continues “Honeysuckle is encouraging and uplifting. It elevates our psyche beyond escape, instilling the confidence, courage and spirit to meet the exhaustive challenges that have become part of everyday life.” A colour can do all that?

Sorry Pantone, I don’t buy it.  As a copywriter I know you have to write something to promote your choice for “Colour Of the Year” but in my humble opinion I think you should tone down your prose a little. We’re not really as gullible as you’d like think we are.

Oh well that’s my rant for today. 🙂 Please feel free to give me your opinion.

§ 10 Responses to 2011 – the year of honeysuckle pink???

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    Hmmm… I am not a pink person (too dull for me) but this pink has potential. Doubt that it’ll ever make it into one of my quilts but never say never!

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    I love the colour, but not the verbiage

  • Pamela says:

    I don’t get it!!! It is not even a vibrant pink, and I love that. Maybe it will go away quietly.

  • Lee Ann L. says:

    I am not sure about that color either… a lot of people like pastels; but, this isn’t even a pastel color? nor is it a vibrant color. I’m not a pink person; but, the latest quilt I’m working on has pink. Not much choice in that considering the Maxine fabric line has pink in it. But, I’m finding that pink is okay as long as there are other colors too and that it’s not overwhelming…

  • sylvia says:

    YUCK, both to the color and the hype…

  • Linda says:

    I love Honeysuckle, but in my neck of the woods (southern California), Honeysuckle is yellow!

  • sewjournal says:

    I’m with you ladies. I always thought honeysuckle was cream but after a little research I found these images which show it from cream, through yellow and orange to red and pink! Who knew?

  • Becky says:

    Eww… this is just a lighter version of that 80’s mauve! If we are bringing this color back, we may as well bring back 70’s orange and dark brown! :p

  • Catherine says:

    Oh what a giggle.
    I must admit when looking at the Pantone page, its not too bad a pink. Im not a pink girl myself but this one isnt too bad.
    Becky’s comment:
    “Eww… this is just a lighter version of that 80′s mauve! If we are bringing this color back, we may as well bring back 70′s orange and dark brown! :p”
    Made me giggle.
    My mother was absolutly wrapped on Orange & bright Lime Green. From all the bits in the kitchen even to her lipstick (yes, it was ORANGE) I had such a hangup about those colours (and yellow, come to think about it) that I wouldnt even consider them as possibilities for anything. Until I started quilting & that opened up a whole new area of possibilities.

    Catherine

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2011 – the year of honeysuckle pink??? at Sewjournal.

meta

