Liberated labelling…

December 1, 2010 § 7 Comments

Do you label all your quilts?

When I started I embroidered quite full labels like the one on the left. But then I got bored with putting on labels so I ordered some labels that you can iron on and they become part of the fabric and so that’s what I do now. See below:

I realise this is sacrilege for most quilters but as I’ve just joined a group called Liberated Quilters I think I’m just showing my liberation creds. 🙂

The baby quilt washed…

The It’s a Hoot baby quilt is all washed and ready to go. It’s not too crinkly but very soft and snuggly and looking cute. Now all I have to do is wait for the baby to arrive!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Liberated labelling…

  • Annette in NC, USA says:

    I am definitely not liberated. I make my labels – many times on the computer and printing on fabric then sewing on. I now include who is the recipient, my name, city, date and occasion. And sometimes I put on “all Cotton” or whatever to indicate washing is okay. For family members, I put some leftover fabric scraps behind the label so I can get that out if the quilt needs a repair. That way the scraps get washed as much as the quilt. I do nothing for wall hangins unless I am giving it away.
    🙂

  • Linda says:

    I haven’t gotten any of my quilts that far yet, so I’m not sure what I will be doing. I think I would lean towards the “liberated” side….8-). Yours looks great!

  • sylvia says:

    I think that’s a great idea Munaiba!!!

  • Crispy says:

    I’m not a labeler. Most of my quilts are made using someone else’s pattern except a few I have designed for family members so never really felt a need to put a label on. When I start making quilts that will be put in a show, then I’ll lable them :0)

    Crispy

  • Marshall says:

    I have yet to complete a quilt, but I think I will be embroidering something, or handwriting the information with a fabric marker.

    I love the idea of hiding scraps behind the label! Very clever.

  • I think labeling is a great idea. I have several quilts that were given to me from my husband’s family. I have wished many times that I had more information about the quilter and for whom the quilts were made. I also wish that I had pieces of fabric from the quilts to repair some of them. Love the idea of placing some of the fabric under the label.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Liberated labelling… at Sewjournal.

meta

