Think outside the grid

November 1, 2010 § 2 Comments

There are so many rulers around these days. I guess you’ve all seen the huge array. Some of them are very specific and only help with a particular shape or quilt pattern and others are more generally useful. Well I’ve just found out about one that is in the latter category. It’s called the OUTSIDE THE GRID™ Wonder Ruler and was invented by Barbara Chojnacki. You can see a picture of it below.

This ruler will let you cut squares, strips, half square triangles,and even quarter square triangles without needing any painful mathematical formulas! Barbara has created the rulers in two grid sizes – 1/8th” ruler and a 1/6th” ruler. To quote her website “The 1/6” Wonder Ruler is the ONLY ruler for quilters with a 1/6” grid! This unique ruler enables quilters to quickly and easily make blocks in sizes not possible with other rulers. No more “guesstimating” thirds or sixths of an inch! What’s more, as with the 1/8” grid ruler, you do not need to remember formulas for half-square and quarter-square triangles. If, like me, you love variations of 9-patch and 36-patch blocks, this ruler is a must!”

I have no affiliations with Barbara and her business. I just heard about the rulers on a list I belong to and watched this video which explains their use. I thought you might find them interesting. I’m certainly considering purchasing them.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Think outside the grid

  • Crispy says:

    That’s what I love about EQ, I don’t have to do the math and can just click print to get whatever size I need. A HUGE advantage as I am math challenged LOL.

    Crispy

    • sewjournal says:

      That’s right EQ is great for that but that would only help if you were scissor cutting all your pieces. If you want to rotary cut them then I think this ruler would be really helpful as you don’t have to measure fragments of an inch. You just look for the marling that is the finished block size. Thanks for commenting Crispy.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Think outside the grid at Sewjournal.

meta

