Weekend sewing…

October 18, 2010 § 4 Comments

What sewing did I get done this weekend?

Well first of all I did something secret that I can’t show you because it’s a surprise for someone who reads my blog. I’ll show you once I’ve given it to them.

The second thing is that I’ve been re-attaching the binding to my Arabesque. It’s been a tad tricky because I want the other part of the pattern to show so I’m having to applique the folded edge to the front – which makes it a little more difficult when it comes to creating the mitred corners – and then I will have to fold it over to the back and hand sew that too. However, I think it will be worth it. Here’s where I’m at with it at the moment. The second photo shows what it will be like when it’s folded over. What do you think?

What do you think of these strange flowers? They’re some sort of Bromeliad and I love the colours. They grow in the shady spots in my garden and brighten them up.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Weekend sewing…

  • ozjane says:

    That binding looks great…..it will be worth all the work.
    I had a fight with Moggie as I was trying to iron some binding seams today…….a long trail of fabric……what fun she says and grabs it in her teeth and sits on it……..LOL
    I did get it finished.

  • Crispy says:

    The binding is going to be a perfect from for the quilt. Beautiful :0)

    Crispy

  • Holly says:

    Beautiful! And those flowers remind me of the purple and green some-day quilt that I am collecting fabrics for. They look so lovely together.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend sewing… at Sewjournal.

meta

