More quilting patterns…

October 2, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’ve experienced such generosity from many quilters who have shared their ideas and their knowledge with me to assist me to design a quilting pattern for my “Which way?” quilt. One quilter in particular is Barb Cowan of The Quilt Connection.

Barb is a very talented professional longarm quilter and she actually called me all the way from Queensland to discuss my quilt. Thanks Barb.

Barb suggested I draw my quilt out without marking the block seams so I could view the white are just as a background for the coloured strips. This was such a great idea and really removed a constraint I had felt while trying to design a quilting pattern for this quilt.

Below are some of the mad designs I’ve come up with. I know that none of these is practical for various reasons – from not enough quilting to too many changes of direction – but I just wanted to let my imagination run wild.

Now I’m going to let these ideas simmer for a while and hopefully when I next come to draw it out I’ll have a design that enhances the pattern and is “do-able” for my meagre machine quilting skills.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to More quilting patterns…

  • Teresa says:

    I really like the third photo with the “wonky” circles. That also should be relatively easy for someone with modest machine quilting skills.

  • Doris says:

    Hi Munaiba,
    You have some great ideas going there.

    Don’t concern yourself with technical issues at this stage–there’s always a solution.

    A couple of things to think about. First do you want the quilting to be subservient to the patchwork, which is the more contemporary approach or do you want the quilting to add another design element to the quilt which is more of 19th century approach?

    Somewhere I read/saw/heard that using curves is an excellent counterpoint to straight-line patchwork. Think of Amish quilts with all those hard lines. The quilting is always curves, curves, & more curves in the form of feathers, fans, & wreaths. Applique quilts which are generally all curves respond positively when the quilting is strictly straight-lines–diagonal grids for instance.

    I’d love to see you experiment with curved quilting designs for this quilt. Maybe something as simple as a spiral starting at the center or maybe someplace less expected or maybe a series of spirals flowing into & out of each other–sort of enforce the “Which Way” title.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More quilting patterns… at Sewjournal.

meta

