Paisley Inspirations

July 23, 2010 § 5 Comments

I don’t know about you but I find paisleys fascinating. I guess they have a fractal element to them somehow. I’d really like to use the paisley element in an appliqué quilt one day.

The picture below is of a shawl someone kindly gave me. The colours aren’t my favourites but I really love the pattern and it is lovely and warm. Great for this cold season. It’s so intricate. I wonder if it could be simplified and enlarged enough to make it possible to render in applique. What do you reckon?

Paisley shawl

Paisley shawl

Bookmark and Share [tweetmeme source=”sewjournal” only_single=false http://sewjournal.com%5D

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Paisley Inspirations

  • Linda says:

    Munaiba, I love paisley, too. Do you have EQ or other drawing program? If not, could you freehand draw your interpretation of the paisley pattern you would like for applique? There’s a LOT of detail in the pattern in the shawl. How simple are you wanting it? I could try to draw it for you if I knew exactly what you are looking for 🙂

    • Munaiba Khan says:

      That’s such a kind offer Linda. I do have EQ6. So I might email you off-post and chat with you about using it to make the paisley into an appliqu pattern. Thanks again Munaiba

  • Chérie Hoyle says:

    Hi Munaiba

    You bet it could be turned into an appliqué and it could be fractalised.

    Byee

    Chérie

  • Linda says:

    A friend of mine designs and teaches hand applique, and her creations often include paisley shapes. You may not need to invent the wheel! Take a look at Angela’s stuff here: http://appliqueafterhours.com/

    • Munaiba Khan says:

      Thanks for the link. I went and looked but I’m thinking of doing something a little more intricate than her paisleys which seem to be mainly the “comma” shape made with fancy fabrics. She does lovely work but it’s not really what I had in mind. Thanks for your suggestion though. I appreciate it. Munaiba

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Paisley Inspirations at Sewjournal.

meta

