The Appliqué has begun

July 1, 2010 § 3 Comments

At last I have basted my pattern and last night I ripped off the greaseproof paper. It’s best to use short, sharp motions to rip it off while firmly holding the underlying fabric. Occasionally some of the stitches come out but usually that doesn’t matter. If a whole, small motif comes off then the needled marks are easy to see as I use a large basting needled and I can just re-baste that bit.

Removing the paper

Removing the paper

And then the fun the bit… the appliqué. I made a start last night and am hoping to do some more at Sit and Sew. So far so good, but the difficult bits are yet to come.

Applique begins

Appliqué begins

Looking for the Hawthorne Threads Give Away? It’s here. You’ve got just 24 hours before the draw!

Bookmark and Share

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Appliqué has begun

  • HandmadeDiva says:

    I love applique. You’re doing a great job.

  • Janice Weisser says:

    Is this the pattern you drew yourself? It’s beautiful, can’t wait to see this one finished. Are you doing needle turn? I know you have probably addressed all of these questions but I’ve forgotten.

    Jan

    • Munaiba Khan says:

      Hi Jan Yes I drew this from an Arabesque I saw in a photo. I’m doing needle turn reverse appliqu Cheers Munaiba

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Appliqué has begun at Sewjournal.

meta

