Spicy cheese & onion scones. Mmmmm…

May 7, 2010 § 4 Comments

My house still has the delicious aroma from the savoury scones I cooked this morning. I’m having to play it by ear as the new oven isn’t behaving the same as the old one. Anyway as I have been asked for the recipe, here it is:

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients

250g self raising flour

1tsp Massel Chicken-style stock powder

2 tbsp full cream milk powder

1 tbsp butter

1/2 cup grated reduced fat tasty type cheese

1 cup low fat milk

the smallest squirt of Gourmet Garden Garlic

double that amount of Gourmet Garden Dill

1 tsp Cajun seasoning mix

1/2 cup very,very finely sliced and then chopped onion

Method

Pre heat oven to 200 deg C. Grease a silicone cookie sheet. Place flour, stock powder, milk powder, Cajun seasoning mix, cheese and onion into a bowl and roughly mix together. Add the garlic and dill and the butter cut into small pieces. Cut the butter through with a round bladed knife and then rub through with your hands until the mixture is like fine breadcrumbs. Add the milk and mix through with the round-bladed knife. It will be wettish. Flour your hands and work it gently (not too much or you will develop the gluten and they will become tough) until comes into a ball. Turn out onto a lightly floured board and roll to 3/4″ thick. Use a small cookie cutter or a floured glass (I used a champagne flute) and cut out rounds and place them (not touching) onto the cookie sheet. Gently pull the dough together and repeat until you have used it all up. Brush the tops lightly with a little milk and put in the oven.

I cooked mine for 8 minutes in the 200 deg C oven and then turned it up to 220 deg C and turned the fan on for another 3 minutes. I removed them from the sheet and placed on a  wire rack to cool.

Savoury scones

Savoury scones

I serve them split and buttered.

Savoury scones

Savoury scones

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Spicy cheese & onion scones. Mmmmm…

  • Janet says:

    Some people have the knack for scones, I think that’s you. I love the look and sound of these. I’m drooling here.

  • taylorsoutback says:

    Thanks so much for posting this!! Just added you to My Favorite Blogs too.

  • […] kitchen smells wonderful, cheese scones cooling on the rack and bread cooking in the bread machine. I used to make my own bread by hand but […]

  • […] July 24, 2010 by sewjournal I’ll ‘fess up now and tell you I’m writing this on Friday and then scheduling it for Saturday because that’s when – God Willing – some members of my family will arrive in Sydney. It’s been three and half years since we’ve been together so I’m really looking forward to it. That’s why today I have been baking – bread, cookies and savoury scones. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spicy cheese & onion scones. Mmmmm… at Sewjournal.

meta

