Presencia Perle and Valdani…

May 4, 2010 § 5 Comments

Well I’m a day late. I had hoped to blog everyday and I was willing but WordPress wasn’t yesterday. I don’t know what happened but all the WordPress blogs seemed to be experiencing problems. Anyhow it looks like it’s fixed now.

Catherine from Catherine’s Place sent me some photos of the Presencia Perle Sample Packs. They’re solids not variegated but they look lovely. Check them out…

Perle Samples 1

Perle Samples 1

Perle Samples 2

Perle Samples 2

Valdani

One of the blogs I love to visit is Quiltsalott and Janet who writes this blog put me on to another thread called Valdani. It is also gorgeous and has heaps of variegated threads in really sumptuous colours. Take a look at their website and drool. They have a list of Australian Distributors here but I visited one of the sites mentioned and couldn’t see their thread anywhere on the site. If you’ve used Valdani thread I’d love to hear from you. Please leave a comment and/or take part in my poll. I’m interested to see what thread comes out as favourite.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Presencia Perle and Valdani…

  • Erica says:

    Material Obsession in Hunters Hill has the full range of colours in Prescencia perle threads – 8 wt, I think (or maybe 10 wt? can’t remember). The Thread Studio in WA (www.thethreadstudio.com/) sells Valdani threads.

  • Julie Adamson says:

    I am currently using Valdani threads along with Aurifil….plus many others within the one quilt.

    Valdani has wondeful colourways and is blending beautifully. However, for handquilting, I do find that the quality on the surface of the thread is a little rough.

    The Aurifil thread has a gentler colourway and the surface is superb to handquilt with. There is no drag. very little twisting or knotting. Even long threads are very durable after many entry and exits through the quilt.

    Now my preferred thread!

  • Janet says:

    I love the presencia for quality better than DMC and I’ve yet to try Valdani but I drool over the huge variety of variagateds and really want to get some. I saw some here recently but the colours were too muddy for my use. I noted the #12 they had were tiny spools.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Presencia Perle and Valdani… at Sewjournal.

meta

